Much of your research will come from the books and scholarly journals available to you at the OWHL. Here are the OWHL's top tips for finding and working with dense, scholarly works:
• Never pay for research. Did you run into a pay wall when searching for articles online? Try searching for the name of the journal in the OWHL's Full Text Finder to see if it is available through one of the our databases. If it isn't available, simply stop by the library and ask for helping submitting an inter-library loan (ILL) request.
• Read the bibliography. The great thing about books and scholarly journal articles is that they all have bibliographies. With them, you can find the sources those scholars used and incorporate that information into your own research, whether it's another article or raw data.
• Make sure you can access databases off campus. If you try to use any OWHL databases or eBooks off campus, you will be asked to enter your library card number (your student ID number) and a library PIN (a 4-digit number you ask for at the Circulation Desk).
Oliver Wendell Holmes Library Catalog
Can't find what you are looking for at your home library? Please check out the Commonwealth Catalog.
With access to millions of titles, the Commonwealth Catalog extends your library’s reach to all participating libraries throughout Massachusetts, with convenient pick-up at your local library.
These databases contain articles from professional, scholarly, and trade journals and magazines. Make sure you click the "Full Text" box before searching to make sure you have access to the entire article.