Skip to main content

Spanish: Explorations of Texts and Contexts in Hispanic Literature: Reference Sources Plus

Reference Books vs. Circulating Books

Reference books should only be used for an overview, and not as one of your major sources.  Because reference book articles are short, you are not going to find the level of detail required to write a successful paper.

Circulating books offers more specific information on one major subject with lots of details in its further subdivision.  You may also find lots of supporting materials via facts, personal experience or survey as well as possible some statistics.  It takes you to a deeper level of research.

Garver Reference / Silent Study Room

Garver Reference Room

The Garver Room houses the library’s main reference collection. 

Use reference materials, such as almanacs, fact books, dictionaries and encyclopedias to get an overview of key terms and concepts related to your topics as a way to begin the research process.

Reference book articles are short and sweet, and reading them will help you wrap your head around a topic before tackling a 400+ page book!

Where can I find them?

  • Reference books are located in the Garver Room (silent study room).
  • Reference books CANNOT be checked out or leave the library.
  • Please return reference books to the Garver Room when you're done using them.
  • All reference books will have the prefix REF before the call number.

****************************************

  • Circulating books are located in the stacks. 
  • Please use the Stack Directory in the Main Help Desk area or ask librarians.
  • If you don't find a circulating book in the stack, you may check 1) Books around the slot where it should be; 2) The shelves with "To be shelved" in the stacks; 3) Ask the librarian at the Circulation Desk to see if it is just returned.
  • Librarians can help you to get a copy via an Interlibrary Loan service.

Hispanic Literature Update from NOBLE

Recommended Readings -Hispanic Literature

General Readings 

The Companion to Latin American Studies

A Companion to US Latino Literatures

Extraordinary Hispanic Americans

Herencia : the anthology of Hispanic literature of the United States   

Hispanic-American writers [electronic resource]

Latin American folktales : stories from Hispanic and Indian traditions

New World : young Latino writers

The Norton anthology of Latino literature

Passionate subjects/split subjects in twentieth-century literature in Chile [electronic resource] : Brunet, Bombal, and Eltit 

Stories from Latin America = Historias de Latinoamérica

U.S. Latino literature : a critical guide for students and teachers 

Visiones : perspectivas literarias de la realidad social hispana

Los cuentos de Emilio a book written by Mozo, Emilio M., an PA's retired Spanish Instructor and Chair.

Spring term: Selected Readings

The Cambridge companion to Gabriel García Márquez [electronic resource]

Cien años de soledad   

One hundred years of solitude

El mundo de macondo en la obra de Gabriel García Márquez

Gabriel García Márquez

Gabriel Garcia Marquez [electronic resource]

Gabriel García Márquez : a critical companion

García Márquez : el viaje a la semilla : la biografía

Gabriel García Márquez : new readings

García Márquez : the man and his work

Chronicle of a death foretold

Crónica de una muerte anunciada

Los funerales de la Mamá Grande

Homenaje a Garcia Márquez; variaciones interpretativas en torno a su obra

Living to tell the tale

Spanish language -- Readers.

Spanish literature 20th century.

Should Latino/a literature be limited to the experiences of Latinos in the United States? Can Latino literature exist outside the United States?


Fall term: Selected Short Stories by contemporary Latin American and Spanish authors (e.g. Carlos Fuentes, J.L. Borges, Gabriel Garcia Marquez.)

The Cardinal points of Borges

A century of Cuban writers in Florida : selected prose and poetry American literature Hispanic American authors.     

A Companion to Jorge Luis Borges

Innocent Eréndira, and other stories

The Latin American story finder : a guide to 470 tales from Mexico, Central America and South America, listing subjects and sources 

Masterworks of Latin American short fiction : eight novellas

The Oxford book of Latin American short stories

The Vintage book of Latin American stories

Conversations with Isabel Allende

Isabel Allende : life and spirits

Stories from Latin America = Historias de Latinoamérica

 

Winter term: Spanish and Spanish American Drama 

A companion to golden age theatre

The golden age: drama, 1492-1700

Monarchy, political culture, and drama in seventeenth-century Madrid [electronic resource] : theater of negotiation

Spanish drama of the golden age

Women writing women : an anthology of Spanish-American theater of the 1980s

Contemporary Hispanic Poetry & Novels

The Oxford book of Latin American poetry : a bilingual anthology

The surrender tree : poems of Cuba's struggle for freedom

A century of Cuban writers in Florida : selected prose and poetry

Contemporary Hispanic Novels:

El hombre, la hembra y el hambre / Daína Chaviano.

Books in Spanish written by PA's Author: Mozo, Emilio


Last Rev. 2/10/2017

Electronic Reference Sources

Reference sources are also available in database form through the library.  These sources are available 24/7!

  • Credo Reference is a broad-based reference tool that can be limited to search for literature resources.
  • Encyclopedia Britannica is useful for finding broad overviews.
  • The Literary Encyclopedia is good for author overviews; it also includes some information on literary works and movements.
  • Reference Universe shows you what is inside each book, searching deeply into the indexes of more than 20,000 electronic and print reference works.
  • Oxford Language Dictionaries Online Search Oxford's authoritative bilingual dictionaries to get accurate, up-to-date translations you can rely on.

Questions & Answers for You

Q. Dear librarian, After I searched the NOBLE Catalog system, I found one of the items I like to read having a call number like this: S 863 G16F,  what does it mean and where I can find it?

A. This prefix S means this item is in Spanish language. You need to go downstairs to the basement for the Spanish materials section. 863 means it is a book about Latin American Literature.

Q. What does "Boom" mean in the Latin American literature?

A. "Boom is the name given to a period of Latin American literature from the late 1950’s to the early 1970’s."

~ Ms. Pei

What is a PIN Number?

When accessing any of our online resources (eBooks, databases, etc.) from off campus, you will be prompted to enter your library username/library and a PIN.

Your library username is your student ID number on the back of your Blue Card. The PIN is a unique, 4-digit number created for you upon request at the Circulation Desk here at the OWHL.

You MUST have a PIN number in order to access any online library resources from off campus. To obtain a PIN, simply bring your Blue Card to the Circulation Desk.