Skip to main content

Chinese History: Books

To support Chinese history classes by the Chinese Dept.

Research Tip 研究提示

When you find a book that is relevant to your topic, always check the bibliography for other sources and then ask a librarian for help with finding them.  The author of the book has already done much of your research for you, and he/she spent many weeks/months/years of his/her life doing research.  Take advantage of it!

Desk Reserves

If you teacher has reserve books for you to read, they will be available on 2 hour reserve at the Welcome desk.

Chinese History Quizzes

Be the winner of Quizzes on China!

Chinese History quiz by Mark

Search the OWHL Catalog

   Oliver Wendell Holmes Library Catalog

          

Recommended Reading 推荐阅读

You may also explore OWHL's collection via NOBLE Catalog to get titles like these:  

China, a photohistory 1937-87   

China : tradition and change

China witness : voices from a silent generation / Xinran ; translated from Chinese

Chinese history : ancient China to 1911

China in the 21st century : long-term global implications

China : its history and culture

The Columbia guide to modern Chinese history

Contemporary Chinese America : immigration, ethnicity, and community transformation 

Gu dai wen hua chang shi 古代文化常识

A history of the world in 100 objects

Imperial China 900-1800  

Like good steel : the China letters of Margaret Bailey Speer, North China, 1925-1943 

Living with reform : China since 1989

Stepping forth into the world : the Chinese Educational Mission to the United States, 1872-81

Sources of Chinese tradition  

China in the 21st century : long-term global implications.

The Columbia guide to modern Chinese history

Republican Beijing: The City and Its History from ebrary, Inc.                                           

图说中国节 = Tushuo Zhongguojie          

青少年不可不知的文化常识全集                                                                                                                                           

The search for modern China : a documentary collection 

Mo suo da di  摩挲大地

Si chou zhi lu (丝绸之路

Stepping forth into the world [electronic resource] : the Chinese Educational Mission to the United States, 1872-81

The adventures of Marco Polo

The travels of Marco Polo

The travels of Marco Polo [electronic resource]

The travels of Marco Polo

The search for modern China : a documentary collection

Twentieth century China : a history in documents

影响中国历史的100件大事 = 100 important events of Chinese history

Yi bai ge ren de shi nian 一百个人的十年: 一九六六年至一九七六年 

Zhongguo li shi chang shi 中国历史常识 

Zhongguo tong shi = The concise handbook of Chinese general history

Chinese Periodicals 中文期刊

汉语世界 = The world of Chinese  No 12, 2008 - Current Issue (in Freenman Room)

It is a great source for modern Chinese culture and language with featured articles on each issue.  It also covers topics like business, economy, and people's daily life on food, entertainment and love etc. You are going to love it!  

Book Search via Google

Search the full text of books that Google has scanned and stored in its digital database. The books come from large research university and public libraries. Full text is available for books published before 1923. For books still under copyright protection, only a small snippet of text is available.

Scholar Search On China