Researching in the Sciences can be a bit different than research you've done in other classes. Most scientific research you use should be recent (within 5 years). Here are a few tips to help you find worthwhile things:
Unless you need to search an individual journal title, you will be using a database to conduct your search. A database contains many individual journal titles that you can search all at one time. The library databases are paid subscriptions and can only be accessed by PA Students, faculty and community.
The following are the recommended databases for your paper/project.
|SCIENCE||Science is the premier American magazine for cutting edge commentary, research, and news in the sciences. Published weekly, it covers all areas of medicine and science. For best results, use the advanced search button at the top of the screen and limit the timeline for your search as the database offers full text coverage going back to 1880.|
|ScienceDirect||ScienceDirect is a comprehensive scientific database containing article from over 2500 different scientific journal titles in many diverse fields. It can be dificult to search. You can help narrow your search by choosing advanced search and limiting your search parameters to the abstract and title as well as the appropiriate subject field. You will find the more detailed you get, the more accurate your results. We receive the current 5 years of articles in full-text.|
|HighWire Press||Hosted by Stanford University, HighWire Press indexes over 1300 journals in the Sciences. It is recomended that you start a search in the abstract and title fields. Your results will indicate the link to the article and any associated costs. Many of the articles are free. Before paying for any articles, try the journal finder or speak to a librarian.|
|Scientific American Online||Scientific American is a scientific magazine specializing in articles that bridge knowledge between professional scientists and the public. This database carries the full-text of Scientific American back to 1993. Our archive includes all the results from Scientific American as well as their special publications. There have been several issues devoted to evolution.|
|Directory of Open Access Journals||The Directory of Open Access Journals provides searching for over 2000 open access (i.e. free) journals in scientific and scholarly areas. In order to search for articles, use the link on the left hand side. This databse covers other areas beside Science, but has been fruitful in the past.|
To see a chart of all the databases the OWHL subscribes to, visit the E-Resources A-Z page.