Skip to main content

INT501FA: Environmental Science: Food, Agriculture, and the Future: Articles

Finding Articles in Science

Researching in the Sciences can be a bit different than research you've done in other classes. Most scientific research you use should be recent (within 5 years).  Here are a few tips to help you find worthwhile things:

  • Use the Internet-- You may be able to find recent research and new discoveries on the World Wide Web. Instead of just using Google, use specialized search engines such as scienceresearch.com. Read web pages carefully for original research.  

  • Always read carefully -- As you read reports, blogs, articles, etc... Look for words that will point you in the right direction for other research (i.e. "An article in Science states..." -- Go and find that article!

  • Bibliographic Mining -- Look at the bibliographies of the materials you already have.  This is a  great place to find additional resources that will be helpful to your paper.  Looking at the citation information of the bibliography, you can usually determine from where that source originates.

  • Use the Full Text Finder -- The Full Text Finder will search for journal and magazine titles available through the OWHL's databases and Print collection.  It can tell you if the particular year and/or volume of a journal is available.

Search FAQ

Why can't I find anything in the databases?
The Science Databases (especially ScienceDirect) contain millions of articles! You should be searching carefully using the advanced search to limit your searches to specific subject areas and full text availability. Instead of just using keywords, you may need to be very specific in your searches.

Can I access databases off campus?
Indeed. When you are off campus, you will bea sked to enter your last name and your PA ID number. If you have any problems, don't hesitate to contact the library at (978)749-4230.

What is Full-Text?
Full text means that you will be able to read/view the entire text of the article - not just an index entry or abstract.

What is the Journal Finder?
The journal finder will search the OWHL collections (online and print) for the titles of specific journals. To use, enter the title of the journal you want to find.

Article Databases

Unless you need to search an individual journal title, you will be using a database to conduct your search. The databases contain numerous (1000s) of individual titles that you can search at one time.  The library databases are paid subscriptions and can only be accessed by PA Students, faculty and community.

The following are the recommended databases for your paper/project.

Getting Started

Science Database (ProQuest) Search full text and images for the leading periodicals in science and technology. Subject coverage includes computers, engineering, physics, telecommunications, and transportation.
Scientific American Online Scientific American is a scientific magazine specializing in articles that bridge knowledge between professional scientists and the public. this database carries the full-text of Scientific American back to 1993. Our archive includes all the results from Scientific American as well as their special publications.  There have been several issues devoted to evolution.
ScienceONLINE ScienceONLINE is the online repository for the journal Science.  The online version contains articles going back all the way to 1880!  Science is one of the world's most premier journals offering cutting edge original research  in all areas of the Natural Sciences. Searching the database is a little cumbersome and can require some patience.  See a librarian for help!  
ScienceDirect ScienceDirect is a comprehensive scientific database containing article from over 2500 different scientific journal titles in many diverse fields.  It can be difficult to search.  You can help narrow your search by choosing advanced search and limiting your search parameters to the abstract and title as well as the appropriate subject field.  You will find the more detailed you get, the more accurate your results.  We receive the current 5 years  of articles in full-text. 

 

To see a chart of all the databases the OWHL subscribes to, visit the E-Resources A-Z page.

 

Subject Guide