Skip to main content
Oliver Wendell Holmes Library
ENG 200 - Dr. Vidal
Search the text of all OWHL Guides
OWHL Guide Search
ENG 200 - Dr. Vidal: E-Resources
Research Process - Step by Step
Databases vs. Websites
Paid for by the library. Often very expensive!
Cannot be searched in Google.
Includes sources written by professors, scholars, journalists, "smart people", etc.
Authority of information is verified by experts.
Access is free. No one is paying for the content.
Anyone can publish a website. The information included is often not verified by anyone.
Can be searched in a variety of search engines, including Google.
Must examine with a critical eye!
Finding Articles for Literature Research
Literary Reference Center Plus (EBSCO)
This comprehensive database combines provides the most relevant information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.
Literature Resource Center (Gale)
Up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines.
Academic Search Elite (EBSCO)
This multidisciplinary database provides the full text of more than 2,100 journals, including more than 1,700 peer-reviewed titles.
Biography in Context (Gale)
This database provides biographical reference articles on more than 650,000 international figures from all times periods and areas of study. It will also link you to relevant popular and scholarly press articles.
This database provides access to a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals.
This multidisciplinary database provides access to full text scholarly journals, mainly in the humanities and social sciences.
Sunday: 11 am - 7:45 pm
Tuesday: 8 am - 3:00 pm
Wednesday: 9 am - 3:00 pm
Thursday: 8:30 am - 3:00 pm
Popular Press >>
Oct 11, 2018 1:39 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.