OWHL Guides: French 220: World War II in France: Electronic Resources

Databases vs. Websites

Databases

Paid for by the library. Often very expensive!
Cannot be searched in Google.
Includes sources written by professors, scholars, and journalists, etc.
Authority of information is verified by experts.

Websites

Access is free. No one is paying for the content.
Anyone can publish a website. The information included is often NOT verified by anyone.
Can be searched in a variety of search engines, including Google.
Must examine with a critical eye!

Quick Links

Databases: A to Z The complete list of databases available to you through the OWHL. To search for History specific databases click the "All Subjects" dropdown and select "History and Social Science."
Library Catalog Search items at Phillips Academy or broaden your search to include items offered to you by the NOBLE network.
NoodleTools Helps you stay organized and create citations

Full Text Finder This link opens in a new window This resource allows you to search for specific journal titles in the OWHL's collection and see which databases have the full text articles.

What is a Pin Number?

A pin number is a unique number for your library account at the OWHL. You MUST have a Pin number to get books through NOBLE. To get a pin, simply bring your ID to the Welcome desk.

Recommended Electronic Databases

For your selected culture and history topics, you may start with the following online sources. They are the paid databases via the library and are very reliable sources.

Europa World: The Global Reference Resource This link opens in a new window
This database provides in-depth essays on different aspects of individual countries, specializing in economic and historical information.
Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
This database provides biographical reference articles on more than 650,000 international figures from all times periods and areas of study. It will also link you to relevant popular and scholarly press articles.
Gale in Context: World History This link opens in a new window
This database provides reference and secondary source information on the most significant people, events, and topics in world history.
Le Monde Online Newspaper This link opens in a new window
This link will take you to Le Monde in French, the most trusted French newspaper. The paper has established a greater distinction between fact and opinion in recent years.
Oxford Dictionaries This link opens in a new window
Complete dictionaries for the following languages: Arabic, Chinese, English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Russian, and Spanish.
PressReader This link opens in a new window
This database provides today's news from over 7000 titles publications (newspapers and magazines) across the globe from 120+ countries in 60+ languages.
ProQuest E-Book Central This link opens in a new window
A vast collection of eBooks on all academic topics from scholarly publishers. All books available in eBook Central can also be found through the OWHL's catalog.
World Geography and Culture This link opens in a new window
This reference database provides a comprehensive overview of countries and U.S. states, with information on people and cultures, geography, government, and more.

French 220: World War II in France: Electronic Resources

Databases vs. Websites

Quick Links

What is a Pin Number?

Recommended Electronic Databases

Selected Internet Sources