OWHL Guides: Spanish 501 Advanced Spanish Language Colloquium: Electronic Resources

Latinos in the U.S.A.

OWHL e-Resources vs. Websites

OWHL e-Resources

Paid for by the library. Often very expensive!
Cannot be searched in Google.
Includes sources written by professors, scholars, journalists
Authority of information is verified by experts.

Websites

Access is free. No one is paying for the content.
Anyone can publish a website. The information included is often not verified by anyone.
Can be searched in a variety of search engines, including Google.

Website Evaluation

Website Evaluation Checklist

Teaching Without Frills - Resource Evaluation Video

Recommended Electronic Databases

For your selected culture and history topics, you may start with the following online sources. They are paid databases via the OWH Library and are trustworthy ones.

ABC CLIO The Latino American Experience: The American Mosaic (Academic Edition) This link opens in a new window
A full-text digital resource exploring the history and culture of U.S. Latinx.
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Reference articles from one of the oldest and most trusted reference sources in the world.
Britannica Escolar This link opens in a new window
Offers resources in Spanish for all ages in two unique interfaces: Enciclopedia Moderna for high school and college students and Britannica Escolar for elementary and middle school students.
CQ Researcher: 1923 to the Present This link opens in a new window
In-depth reports written by award-winning journalists on controversial and important topics of the day, from 1923 to the present. Professionally fact-checked, topics include economics, social issues, international affairs, politics, civil rights, public policy, and more.
EBSCOhost Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database provides the full text of more than 2,100 journals, including more than 1,700 peer-reviewed titles.
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
This database provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources, including Nature, The Economist and Classical Studies. In addition, it contains hundreds of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and the CBC.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
This cross-curricular research database supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes, and includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more.
Gale OneFile: Informe Académico This link opens in a new window
With full-text articles from the most popular Spanish-language and bilingual periodicals, this database provides quality Hispanic reference material.
Immigrations, Migrations and Refugees: Global Perspectives, 1941-1996 This link opens in a new window
Translated and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals, government documents and books providing global insight on immigration in the mid-to-late 20th century.
Infobase Classroom Video on Demand: Master Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides unlimited access to thousands of full-length videos and clips on core-curriculum topics producers such as National Geographic, TED, the BBC, and more.
Infobase World News Digest This link opens in a new window
This database provides contemporary news from global organizations and publishers, magazines, websites, and government agencies.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database provides access to full text scholarly journals, mainly in the humanities and social sciences.
Latin American News Digest This link opens in a new window
Provides a wide spectrum coverage of news and commentary, produced by Latin Americans, for Latin Americans. Issues appear weekly, with the exception of July, Thanksgiving break and December.
PressReader This link opens in a new window
This database provides today's news from over 7000 titles publications (newspapers and magazines) across the globe from 120+ countries in 60+ languages.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals, including Mexican Studies, US Latino & Oral History.
ProQuest ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive business database includes in-depth coverage for over 3,040 publications, with more than 2,060 available in full text.
ProQuest Central Student This link opens in a new window
A single search for the following databases: Biology; Canadian Newsstream; Computing; Education; International Newsstream; Psychology; Religion; Research Library; Science; Social Science; and US Newsstream.
ProQuest E-Book Central This link opens in a new window
A vast collection of eBooks on all academic topics from scholarly publishers. All books available in eBook Central can also be found through the OWHL's catalog.
ProQuest Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
It is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.
ProQuest U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window
This database enables users to search over 900 of the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites.
Salem Press This link opens in a new window
A collection of online reference books on literature, U.S. history including American Decades and world history, as well as forensic science and health published by the Salem Press, the Reference Shelf Series, and Grey House Publishing.

Instructional Librarian

Sharon Pei

She/Her

Email Me

Contact:

Oliver Wendell Holmes Library

978-749-4228

Subjects: Classics, Summer Session, World Languages & Global Studies

Accessing E-Resources from Off-Campus

How do I access e-Resources off campus?

In order to do this, you must have the following:

Your BlueCard or student ID number
A Library PIN. You can obtain a 4-digit PIN number by connecting with us in person, or through the Ask Us chat service on our homepage.

What if I don't have a PIN?

Please contact the Welcome Desk for support.