Electronic Resources - Chinese 640 - Modern Chinese Literature for Advanced Heritage Learners

Databases vs. Websites

Databases

Research done by professors, scholars, and journalists, etc.
Authority of information is verified by experts.
Paid for by the library. Often very expensive!
Cannot be searched in Google.
Reliable and trustworthy!

Websites

Anyone can publish a website.
The information included is often NOT verified by anyone.
Access is free. No one is paying for the content.
Can be searched in a variety of search engines, including Google.
Must examine with a critical eye!

Recommended Electronic Databases

For your selected culture and history topics, you may start with the following online sources. They are the paid databases via the library and are very reliable sources. To see a complete list of all the databases the OWHL subscribes to, visit the Databases A-Z Page.

ABC_CLIO The Asian American Experience: The American Mosaic (Academic Edition) This link opens in a new window
This new database provides critical lens to the study of U.S. history, exploring the social, political, and economic forces that have shaped the experiences of Asian Americans in distinct historical eras through a rich and diverse variety of primary sources, perspective essays from leading Asian American studies scholars, and search and citation tools for streamlined academic research.
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Reference articles from one of the oldest and most trusted reference sources in the world.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
This database is like an online Garver Room with articles from nearly 1,000 reference sources covering all disciplines.
EBSCOhost Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database provides the full text of more than 2,100 journals, including more than 1,700 peer-reviewed titles.
Europa World: The Global Reference Resource This link opens in a new window
This database provides in-depth essays on different aspects of individual countries, specializing in economic and historical information.
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
This database provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources, including Nature, The Economist and Classical Studies. In addition, it contains hundreds of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and the CBC.
Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
This database provides biographical reference articles on more than 650,000 international figures from all times periods and areas of study. It will also link you to relevant popular and scholarly press articles.
Infobase Classroom Video on Demand: Master Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides unlimited access to thousands of full-length videos and clips on core-curriculum topics producers such as National Geographic, TED, the BBC, and more.
Oxford Asian History This link opens in a new window
Substantive, peer-reviewed, and regularly updated, the Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Asian History combines the speed and flexibility of digital with the rigorous standards of academic publishing.
Oxford Dictionaries This link opens in a new window
Complete dictionaries for the following languages: Arabic, Chinese, English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Russian, and Spanish.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
This reference database spans 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions, and Encyclopedias.
PressReader This link opens in a new window
This database provides today's news from over 7000 titles publications (newspapers and magazines) across the globe from 120+ countries in 60+ languages.
Reference Universe This link opens in a new window
Reference Universe searches the indices of reference works at the Garver Room. It provides researchers with the most reliable introductions to your research topic, simplifying the process of finding just the right book or journal article.
Salem Press This link opens in a new window
A collection of online reference books on literature, U.S. history including American Decades and world history, as well as forensic science and health published by the Salem Press, the Reference Shelf Series, and Grey House Publishing.

Selected Internet Sources

国学网
国学人物网
丛古到今
林海音＜城南舊事＞台北城南重現
兩地林海音記錄片1
林海音文學展iMovie
城南旧事 1983 - 电影
鄉愁 - 余光中詩 /PC 曲
余光中文章獨配歌曲篇
朗诵欣赏《再别康桥》
偶然 - 徐志摩
采访余光中之一
互动百科 - 全球最大中文百科
Boston CCCC
One of the local Chinese language and culture center
China Maps：Cities & Provinces 中国地图
China Today - History & Dynasties
Information about China: A-Z
International Collections of Library of Congress
History of China
采访手记：英国华裔作家欣然

Chinese 640 - Modern Chinese Literature for Advanced Heritage Learners: Electronic Resources

Databases vs. Websites

Recommended Electronic Databases

Selected Internet Sources