Skip to main content

ENG 536 - Shakespeare and Revenge: E-Resources

Finding Articles for Literary Research

Articles from electronic databases can help you fill in holes in areas of your research where book information is not sufficient. Often times, articles will give very specific information rather than a general overview.

You can access these databases both on campus and off. If you're off campus, you may be prompted for your "library card number". This is simply your PA ID number, which is on your ID card.

The chart below includes databases that will be particularly useful when doing research on your English topics. To see a chart of all the databases the OWHL subscribes to, visit the Databases A-Z Page.

Academic Search Elite Academic Search Elite is a broad-based, multidisciplinary database containing thousands of citations and full-text articles on literature and literary studies.
Biography Resource Center Almost a million biographies including full text of the complete Marquis Who's Who(R). Has the full content of Contemporary Authors. Source citation is at the end of each article.
Contemporary Literary Criticism Select
Contemporary Literary Criticism is an extensive collection of more than 11,000 critical essays on contemporary authors. Each entry contains a biographical/critical introduction, a list of principal works, critical essays, and sources for further study. Updated monthly, Contemporary Literary Criticism allows users to search by author name, title of work, nationality, subject/genre, ethnicity, critic name, and more.
JSTOR The JSTOR Archive holds the complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journals, starting with the very first issues, some dating as far back as the 1600s. New titles and disciplines are being added regularly.
MLA International Bibliography MLA International Bibliography supports scholarly research with remote access to more than 2 million bibliographic citations to journal articles, books, articles, Web sites and dissertations from 1926 to the present. The MLA Thesaurus and MLA Directory of Periodicals are included as fully searchable and integrated tools.
Oxford English Dictionary The OED covers words from across the English-speaking world, from North America to South Africa, from Australia and New Zealand to the Caribbean. It also offers the best in etymological analysis and in listing of variant spellings, and it shows pronunciation using the International Phonetic Alphabet.
Project Muse Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers, providing 100% full-text access to a comprehensive selection of prestigious journals in the humanities and social sciences disciplines.

Databases vs. Websites

Databases

  • Paid for by the library.  Often very expensive!
  • Cannot be searched in Google.
  • Includes sources written by professors, scholars, journalists, "smart people", etc.
  • Authority of information is verified by experts.

Websites

  • Access is free.  No one is paying for the content.
  • Anyone can publish a website.  The information included is often not verified by anyone.
  • Can be searched in a variety of search engines, including Google.
  • Must examine with a critical eye!