Introduction and e-Reference Sources - HSS 300 - Gilded Age & Progressive Era in the US

Welcome!

Welcome to the Progressive Era OWHL Guide!

Click on a tab above to see all of the relevant sources that are available for this assignment.

Below is a list of reference sources available to help you get started on your research. It is always best to start with a broad overview. Take notes in these sources for context and terminology, and to identify people, places, and events related to your topic. This will help you identify more specific secondary and primary sources.

If you have any questions, please chat with a librarian at the OWHL Answers Help Desk, below!

Right: Advertisement for a Moving Picture Exhibition of "Our New Possessions." Library of Congress. Prints and Photographs Division.

Quick Links

Databases: A to Z The complete list of databases available to you through the OWHL. To search for History specific databases click the "All Subjects" dropdown and select "History and Social Science."
Library Catalog Search items at Phillips Academy or broaden your search to include items offered to you by the NOBLE network.
NoodleTools Helps you stay organized and create citations

Full Text Finder This link opens in a new window This resource allows you to search for specific journal titles in the OWHL's collection and see which databases have the full text articles.

Reference Databases

Infobase African American History Online This link opens in a new window
This source features thousands of reference articles, covering the entire spectrum of African-American history over the past 500 years. Some primary sources may also be found here.
Infobase American History This link opens in a new window
This source features thousands of reference articles on American political, military, social, and cultural history over the past 500 years. Some primary sources may also be found here.
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Reference articles from one of the oldest and most trusted reference sources in the world.
ABC_CLIO Daily Life Through History (Academic Edition) This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive collection of primary and reference sources provides direct insight into the social history of societies ranging from the Australian Aborigines all the way to 21st-century China.
Infobase Issues & Controversies in History This link opens in a new window
This database use primary sources to analyze great conflicts in U.S. and World along with in-depth secondary source articles on historical events. It also provides each issue with its background information and its pro/con arguments.
Gale in Context: World History This link opens in a new window
This database provides reference and secondary source information on the most significant people, events, and topics in world history.