Reference Sources and Books - BIO420 - Animal Behavior

About Reference Sources

Reference Books (Encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc...) offer great overviews of subjects. Usually, they are easier to read and understand. Use these sources to find:

Other keywords and spelling variants related to your project
The names of experts, scholars, and researchers in your subject
Seminal publications

Quick Links

Databases: A to Z The complete list of databases available to you through the OWHL. To search for History specific databases click the "All Subjects" dropdown and select "History and Social Science."
Library Catalog Search items at Phillips Academy or broaden your search to include items offered to you by the NOBLE network.
NoodleTools Helps you stay organized and create citations

Full Text Finder This link opens in a new window This resource allows you to search for specific journal titles in the OWHL's collection and see which databases have the full text articles.

Print Reference Books

Click on the title of the book to find its location in the Garver Room.

Books marked with an * indicate more advanced types of information are included.

Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia by Gale Research Staff; Michael Hutchins
Call Number: REF 591.03 G92G 2003 V.1 - V.17
A Multi Volume Encyclopedia (over 9000 pages!), this is an advanced resource but will have most of the information needed to answer your research questions. It is not organized alphabetically, but by phylum. You will probably be concentrating in Volumes 1 & 3.
A Dictionary of Ethology by Klaus Immelmann; Colin Beer
Call Number: Ref 591.5 Im6d
ISBN: 0674205065
Publication Date: 1989-01-01
Encyclopedia of Animal Behavior by Marc Bekoff; Jane Goodall (Foreword by)
Call Number: REF 591.503 EN33
ISBN: 0313327459
Publication Date: 2004-12-01
Walker's Mammals of the World by Ronald M. Nowak
Call Number: REF 599 W15W 1999 V.1 - V.2
ISBN: 0801857899
Publication Date: 1999-04-07
A definitive text on the mammals of the world. Includes short and detailed listing of mammals, with many behavioral traits included. An image is included for every genus currently known.