Archives and Special Collections is open to researchers Monday-Friday 9am-5pm. Please contact us to schedule an appointment.
NOTE: ALL ARCHIVES & SPECIAL COLLECTIONS ARE OFF CAMPUS AND INACCESSIBLE UNTIL FALL 2019 DUE TO THE LIBRARY RENOVATION.
Oliver Wendell Holmes Library
Archives and Special Collections is the primary repository of Phillips Academy historical records and rare books.
The collections comprise wonderfully diverse holdings including:
Records that document the administrative and academic operations of Phillips Academy and Abbot Academy
Rare books Books are considered rare when they are scarce in supply or unique. The collection includes numerous examples from the age of Gutenberg through contemporary publications.
Photographs Photographs in the collection document the campus, events, people, student life, athletics and other aspects of the school. They include a wide range of formats from daguerreotypes to digital media.
Ephemera Ephemeral items were originally intended for short-term use such as posters, theater programs and postcards.
Audio-visual materialThe collection includes lectures, performances and meeting minutes in a variety of formats.
Because items Archives and Special Collections are rare or unique, additional rules are in place to ensure the security and preservation of the collection. Most notably, the collecition is non-circulating, and the stacks are closed to users. Archives staff retrieve material for use in the reading room.
For more information about Archives and Special Collections, visit the web site.
For general historical sources, see other OWHL Guides for History and other subjects.