Skip to main content

HSS 565 - Material Culture of Early America: Addison Gallery Resources

Addison Online Collection Database

Did you know that the Addison Gallery of American Art's collection of over 17,000 images and objects is searchable digitally through our online database?

Although the collection is not searchable by category, you can search for JPEGs of objects made by a particular craftsman, or search by material or date to explore the width and breadth of the museum's decorative arts collection. 

Search the Addison collection online at http://accessaddison.andover.edu/.  

Choose QUICK SEARCH and enter your search term into the text box. (For example, "glass," "silver," brass," Jacob Hurd," Paul Revere," "teapot," "spoon," "tankard," etc.)

Or choode DATE SEARCH if you are looking for objects made within a particicular date range. 

Click the image thumbnails on this page to be taken to listings in the online database.

Questions? Email Jamie Kaplowitz, Museum Learning Specialist at the Addison Gallery, at jkaplowitz@andover.edu.

Samuel Edwards Tankard

Click the image to be taken to its listing in the Addison's online database.

Samuel Edwards (1705-1762), Tankard, Boston, Massachusetts, c. 1750s, 7 3/4 in. x 5 1/2 in., silver, gift of anonymous donor, 1930.302







Joseph Richardson, Jr. and Nathaniel Richardson Sugar Tongs

Click the image to be taken to its listing in the Addison's online database.

Joseph Richardson, Jr. and Nathaniel Richardson (Nathaniel 1754-1827, Joseph 1752-1831), Sugar Tongs, c. 1770s, silver, gift of anonymous donor, 1930.316







Addison Books on Reserve @ OWHL

Click the link below to see a list of books on reserve for History 100.

Addison Gallery Library

LIBRARY HOURS: The Addison Gallery of American Art's Library is open during public museum hours, Tuesday through Saturday 10am-5pm, Sunday 1pm-5pm. Both the museum and the museum library are closed on Mondays. 

The Addison’s complete library of books on American art and artists is catalogued and accessible to the public. You may search for books and subjects through the Noble Library Network online catalogue, if you set the library location to "Phillips Addison."

The Addison library is a non-circulating library. Due to the rarity of many of the texts, books cannot be taken outside the museum building. The Museum Learning Center and the library tables are available as reading space.

Many of the books relevant for your course have been put on 2-hour reserve at OWHL. 

Jacob Hurd Teapot

Click the image to be taken to its listing in the Addison's online database.

Jacob Hurd (1702-1758), Teapot, c. 1750, silver with wood handle, purchased as the gift of Sidney R. Knafel (PA 1948), Stephen C. Sherrill (PA 1971), Bernard G. Palitz (PA 1942), William Heidrich (PA 1972), S.J. Shrubsole Corp., Thomas Foley (PA 1971), J. Mark Rudkin (PA 1947), Kuni and Michael Schmertzler (PA 1970), 2011.27

Click here to read more about this object, from the Collection Spotlight section of the Addison website. 

Paul Revere II Wine Quart Cann

Click the image to be taken to its listing in the Addison's online database.

Paul Revere ll (1735-1818), Wine Quart Cann, Boston, Massachusetts, c. 1770, 5 15/16 in. x 6 1/16 in., silver, gift of anonymous donor, 1930.311