OWHL Guides: French 401 The Francophone World: Electronic Resources

Databases vs. Websites

Databases

Paid for by the library. Often very expensive!
Cannot be searched in Google.
Includes sources written by professors, scholars, and journalists, etc.
Authority of information is verified by experts.

Websites

Access is free. No one is paying for the content.
Anyone can publish a website. The information included is often NOT verified by anyone.
Can be searched in a variety of search engines, including Google.
Must examine with a critical eye!

Selected Web Sites on French and Francophone

5 places to find France in North America
About France: The French Education System and more...
Key data for France, with selected international comparisons
Americas & the Caribbean
Famous People from France
Francophone Studies Guide by the Library of Congress
French and Francophone Language
French Culture - From the French Embassy
French culture and its People
Gallica
The digital presence of the Bibliothèque Nationale Francais. It contains millions of digitized newspapers, magazines, images, and sound recordings relating to France and French history and culture.
Learn French and Practice it via news, music and theater
l’Institut national de l’audiovisuel (Ina)
National Audio & Visual Institute proivdes valuable AV resources in French.
Ministère de Culture by France's Minister of Culture
More French cinema
Reading in French: A Student's Guide to Francophone Literature & Language Learning
The Top French-Speaking Countries To Visit That Aren’t France

Recommended Electronic Databases

Art & Architecture ePortal This link opens in a new window
It is an authoritative eBook resource that features important works of scholarship in the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, photography, and design. Discover important art and architectural history scholarship from some of the world's finest publishers and museums in an innovative new way. Peer-reviewed born-digital content is also published on the A&AePortal.
All records in this database are also searchable via the Evergreen Catalog.
ARTSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital library of over two million images from some of the world's leading museums, archives, scholars, and artists.
CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive source for theory and research on international affairs includes working papers, special reports, policy briefs, journal articles, country data, and more. Note, if you have any problems with accessing to this database, please try it with username/pswd: phillipsacademy/patriot.
EBSCOhost Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database provides the full text of more than 2,100 journals, including more than 1,700 peer-reviewed titles.
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
This database provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources, including Nature, The Economist and Classical Studies. In addition, it contains hundreds of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and the CBC.
Gale in Context: World History This link opens in a new window
This database provides reference and secondary source information on the most significant people, events, and topics in world history.
Infobase Classroom Video on Demand: Master Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides unlimited access to thousands of full-length videos and clips on core-curriculum topics producers such as National Geographic, TED, the BBC, and more.
Infobase Modern World History This link opens in a new window
This reference database covers the people, places, and events in the broad expanse of history from the mid 15th century to the present. Some primary sources may also be found here.
Infobase World News Digest This link opens in a new window
This database provides contemporary news from global organizations and publishers, magazines, websites, and government agencies.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database provides access to full text scholarly journals, mainly in the humanities and social sciences.
Le Monde Online Newspaper This link opens in a new window
This link will take you to Le Monde in French, the most trusted French newspaper. The paper has established a greater distinction between fact and opinion in recent years.
Oxford Very Short Introductions: Arts and Humanities This link opens in a new window
Includes over 300 Very Short Introductions in the Arts and Humanities. These titles cover a range of subject areas, across History, Literature, Philosophy, Religion, and more. Whether you want to read about The Palestinian-Israeli Conflict, Indian Cinema, Modern Drama, Sikhism, Philosophy, or Classics, you’ll find it here.
PressReader This link opens in a new window
This database provides today's news from over 7000 titles publications (newspapers and magazines) across the globe from 120+ countries in 60+ languages.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals, including Mexican Studies, US Latino & Oral History.
ProQuest Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
This database provides full text articles from over 190 Canadian newspapers from Canada’s leading publishers, from the late 1970s to the present.
ProQuest Central Student This link opens in a new window
A single search for the following databases: Biology; Canadian Newsstream; Computing; Education; International Newsstream; Psychology; Religion; Research Library; Science; Social Science; and US Newsstream.
ProQuest E-Book Central This link opens in a new window
A vast collection of eBooks on all academic topics from scholarly publishers. All books available in eBook Central can also be found through the OWHL's catalog.
ProQuest International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Provides content from more than 660 of the world’s top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.
World Geography and Culture This link opens in a new window
This reference database provides a comprehensive overview of countries and U.S. states, with information on people and cultures, geography, government, and more.

Research & Instructional Librarian

Sharon Pei

She/Her

Email Me

Contact:

Oliver Wendell Holmes Library

978-749-4228

Subjects: Classics, Summer Session, World Languages & Global Studies

What is a Pin Number?

A pin number is a unique number for your library account at the OWHL. You MUST have a Pin number to get books through NOBLE, or have a remote access to the library's digital resources, as well as manage your account. To get a pin, simply bring your ID to the Welcome desk.