OWHL Guides: French 200: Electronic Resources

Databases vs. Websites

Databases

Paid for by the library. Often very expensive!
Cannot be searched in Google.
Includes sources written by professors, scholars, and journalists, etc.
Authority of information is verified by experts.

Websites

Access is free. No one is paying for the content.
Anyone can publish a website. The information included is often NOT verified by anyone.
Can be searched in a variety of search engines, including Google.
Must examine with a critical eye!

What is a Pin Number?

A pin number is a unique number for your library account at the OWHL. You MUST have a Pin number to get books through NOBLE, or manage your account. To get a pin, simply bring your ID to the Welcome desk.

Websites Recommended by Your Teacher

Recommended Electronic Databases

For your selected culture and history topics, you may start with the following online sources. They are the paid databases via the library and are very reliable sources.

EBSCOhost Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database provides the full text of more than 2,100 journals, including more than 1,700 peer-reviewed titles.
ARTSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital library of over two million images from some of the world's leading museums, archives, scholars, and artists.
Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
This database provides biographical reference articles on more than 650,000 international figures from all times periods and areas of study. It will also link you to relevant popular and scholarly press articles.
CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive source for theory and research on international affairs includes working papers, special reports, policy briefs, journal articles, country data, and more. Note, if you have any problems with accessing to this database, please try it with username/pswd: phillipsacademy/patriot.
Europa World: The Global Reference Resource This link opens in a new window
This database provides in-depth essays on different aspects of individual countries, specializing in economic and historical information.
ProQuest International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Provides content from more than 660 of the world’s top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database provides access to full text scholarly journals, mainly in the humanities and social sciences.
Oxford Dictionaries This link opens in a new window
Complete dictionaries for the following languages: Arabic, Chinese, English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Russian, and Spanish.
PressReader This link opens in a new window
This database provides today's news from over 7000 titles publications (newspapers and magazines) across the globe from 120+ countries in 60+ languages.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals, including Mexican Studies, US Latino & Oral History.
Reference Universe This link opens in a new window
Reference Universe searches the indices of reference works at the Garver Room. It provides researchers with the most reliable introductions to your research topic, simplifying the process of finding just the right book or journal article.
Oxford Very Short Introductions: Arts and Humanities This link opens in a new window
Includes over 300 Very Short Introductions in the Arts and Humanities. These titles cover a range of subject areas, across History, Literature, Philosophy, Religion, and more. Whether you want to read about The Palestinian-Israeli Conflict, Indian Cinema, Modern Drama, Sikhism, Philosophy, or Classics, you’ll find it here.
World Geography and Culture This link opens in a new window
This reference database provides a comprehensive overview of countries and U.S. states, with information on people and cultures, geography, government, and more.

French 200: Electronic Resources

Databases vs. Websites

What is a Pin Number?

Websites Recommended by Your Teacher

Recommended Electronic Databases

Selected Internet Sources