Skip to main content

SS 2017- ESL Core 4- Sustainability: Books & Articles

Search Tips

Keyword Searching  
Typically, when you search, you will use Keywords.  Simply enter the basic ideas/keywords of your topic in the search box.  The computer will search for books containing those keywords in the title, subjects, and descriptions of the books.  
 
Subject Searching  
Subject searching is more "powerful" than keyword searching.  It allows you to use a specific vocabulary to find books in the catalog.  To find a good subject, look at the display page of a book you already like.  Simply click on the subject link to run a search


Some sample subjects for this project are:
Global Environmental Change
Climatic Changes

Search FAQ

Why can't I find anything in the databases?
The Science Databases (especially ScienceDirect) contain millions of articles! You should be searching carefully using the advanced search feature to limit your searches to specific subject areas and full text availability. Instead of just using keywords, you may need to be very specific in your searches.

Can I access databases off campus?
Indeed. When you are off campus, you will be asked to enter your last name and your PA ID number. If you have any problems, don't hesitate to contact the library at (978)749-4230.

What is Full Text?
Full text means that you will be able to read/view the entire text of the article - not just an index entry or abstract.

What is the Journal Finder?
The journal finder will search the OWHL collections (online and print) for the titles of specific journals. To use, enter the title of the journal you want to find.
 

Search the OWHL Catalog

   Oliver Wendell Holmes Library Catalog

          

Environmental Science Databases

Unless you need to search an individual journal title, you will be using a database to conduct your search. The databases contain numerous (1000s) of individual titles that you can search at one time. The library databases are paid subscriptions and can only be accessed by PA Students, faculty and community.

The following are the recommended databases for your paper/project.

To see a chart of all the databases the OWHL subscribes to, visit the E-Resources A-Z page.

To see a list of the science databases the OWHL subscribes to, visit the E-Resources By Discipline and then choose the 'Natural Sciences' tab.