OWHL Guides: Russian History and Culture: Electronic Resources

Quick Links

Databases: A to Z The complete list of databases available to you through the OWHL. To search for History specific databases click the "All Subjects" dropdown and select "History and Social Science."
Library Catalog Search items at Phillips Academy or broaden your search to include items offered to you by the NOBLE network.
NoodleTools Helps you stay organized and create citations

Full Text Finder This link opens in a new window This resource allows you to search for specific journal titles in the OWHL's collection and see which databases have the full text articles.

Databases vs. Websites

Databases

Authority of information is verified by experts.
Includes sources written by professors, scholars, journalists, "smart people", etc.
Paid for by the library. Often very expensive!
Cannot be searched in Google.

Websites

Access is free. No one is paying for the contents.
Anyone can publish a website. The information included is often not verified by anyone.
Can be searched in a variety of search engines, including Google.
Must examine with a critical eye!

What is a PIN Number?

When accessing any of our online resources (eBooks, databases, etc.) from off campus, you will be prompted to enter your library username/library and a PIN.

Your library username is your student ID number on the back of your Blue Card. The PIN is a unique, 4-digit number created for you upon request at the Circulation Desk here at the OWHL.

You MUST have a PIN number in order to access any online library resources from off campus. To obtain a PIN, simply bring your Blue Card to the Circulation Desk.

Recommended Electronic Databases

CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive source for theory and research on international affairs includes working papers, special reports, policy briefs, journal articles, country data, and more. Note, if you have any problems with accessing to this database, please try it with username/pswd: phillipsacademy/patriot.
EBSCOhost Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database provides the full text of more than 2,100 journals, including more than 1,700 peer-reviewed titles.
Europa World: The Global Reference Resource This link opens in a new window
This database provides in-depth essays on different aspects of individual countries, specializing in economic and historical information.
Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
This database provides biographical reference articles on more than 650,000 international figures from all times periods and areas of study. It will also link you to relevant popular and scholarly press articles.
Gale in Context: World History This link opens in a new window
This database provides reference and secondary source information on the most significant people, events, and topics in world history.
Infobase Modern World History This link opens in a new window
This reference database covers the people, places, and events in the broad expanse of history from the mid 15th century to the present. Some primary sources may also be found here.
PressReader This link opens in a new window
This database provides today's news from over 7000 titles publications (newspapers and magazines) across the globe from 120+ countries in 60+ languages.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals, including Mexican Studies, US Latino & Oral History.
ProQuest Central Student This link opens in a new window
A single search for the following databases: Biology; Canadian Newsstream; Computing; Education; International Newsstream; Psychology; Religion; Research Library; Science; Social Science; and US Newsstream.
Salem Press This link opens in a new window
A collection of online reference books on literature, U.S. history including American Decades and world history, as well as forensic science and health published by the Salem Press, the Reference Shelf Series, and Grey House Publishing.
Stalin Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
The Stalin Digital Archive (SDA) provides unprecedented access to historically significant content and robust online capabilities for research and teaching. The SDA provides access to primary source materials from Stalin's personal papers and insightful monographs from his personal library along with the 30 volumes from YUP's Annals of Communism series.
World Geography and Culture This link opens in a new window
This reference database provides a comprehensive overview of countries and U.S. states, with information on people and cultures, geography, government, and more.

Russian History and Culture: Electronic Resources

Quick Links

Databases vs. Websites

What is a PIN Number?

Recommended Electronic Databases

Web Resources Recommended by Mrs. Barsegov