Real News - PHR 360 - Proof and Persuasion - OWHL Guides at Phillips Academy

Breaking News Reminders

In the immediate aftermath, news outlets will get it wrong. They want to be the first to report, but do not always have 100% of the information yet.
Do not trust anonymous sources.
Do not trust stories that cite other news sources as their source of information. This means they are not doing original reporting or the investigation themselves.
Pay attention to the language being used:
- "We are getting reports"..this could mean anything
- "We are seeking confirmation" ...means they do not yet know for sure what they are reporting is true
Look for news outlet close to the incident
Compare multiple sources
Big news brings out the fakers and photoshoppers
Beware of reflexive sharing/tweeting!

Newspaper Databases

International Newsstream by ProQuest

Provides content from more than 660 of the world’s top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.
Newspaper Source by EBSCO

This database provides selected full text for 25 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers.
Gale New York Times
Full text coverage: 1995 - present.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Search and read full text articles from 28 historical newspapers listed below [click "more..." to view list"]:

• The Atlanta Constitution (1868-1984)
• Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003)
• The Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988)
• The Baltimore Sun (1837-1987)
• The Boston Globe (1872-1984)
• Chicago Defender (1909-1975)
• Chicago Tribune (1849-1992)
• The Christian Science Monitor (1908-2003)
• Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991)
• Detroit Free Press (1831-1922)
• The Guardian and The Observer (1791-2003)
• Hartford Courant (1764-1990)
• Indianapolis Star (1903-1922)
• The Irish Times and The Weekly Irish Times (1859-2015)
• Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005)
• Los Angeles Times (1881-1989)
• New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
• New York Times (1851-2014)
• New York Tribune (1841-1922)
• Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2003)
• Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001)
• Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
• San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922)
• The Scotsman (1817-1950)
• The St. Louis Post Dispatch (1874-1922)
• The Times of India (1838-2007)
• The Wall Street Journal (1889-1999)
• The Washington Post (1877-1999)
America’s Historical Newspapers Series: 1690-1922

This database contains American newspaper articles from 1690 to 1922. Browse by time period and topic.

Free News Sources

AllSides
"AllSides exposes bias and provides multiple angles on the same story so you can quickly get the full picture, not just one slant."
AP - Associated Press
"The Associated Press is an independent, not-for-profit news cooperative headquartered in New York City. Our teams in over 100 countries tell the world’s stories, from breaking news to investigative reporting. We provide content and services to help engage audiences worldwide, working with companies of all types, from broadcasters to brands."
BBC News
News from the British Broadcasting Corp. for U.K., European, and international news.
NPR
"NPR is a mission-driven, multimedia news organization and radio program producer. It is a network with a strong base of member stations and supporters nationwide. NPR employees are innovators and developers — exploring new ways to serve the public via digital platforms and improved technologies. NPR is also the leading membership and representation organization for public radio."
PBS NewsHour
"Americans and citizens of the world have turned to the PBS NewsHour for the solid, reliable reporting that has made it one of the most trusted news programs on television."
Reuters
"Reuters, the news and media division of Thomson Reuters, is the world’s largest international multimedia news provider reaching more than one billion people every day."

PHR 360 - Proof and Persuasion: Real News

Breaking News Reminders

Newspaper Databases

Free News Sources