OWHL Guides: Spanish 411: Introduction to Hispanic Literature: Electronic Resources

Databases vs. Websites

Databases

Paid for by the library. Often very expensive!
Cannot be searched in Google.
Includes sources written by professors, scholars, and journalists, etc.
Authority of information is verified by experts.

Websites

Access is free. No one is paying for the content.
Anyone can publish a website. The information included is often NOT verified by anyone.
Can be searched in a variety of search engines, including Google.
Must examine with a critical eye!

Recommended Sites

Books about Mexican Literature
The history of Mexican literature encompasses Mayan and Aztec myths, and features works by Lee H. Dowling, Margarita Vargas, Mario Martín Flores, Bart L. Lewis, and many others.
Colombia Country Profile by BBC
Gabriela Mistral from The Poetry Foundation
Hispanic American writers
Las mejores 100 novelas de la lengua española de los últimos 25 años
For a list of a 100 top novels in Spanish, read this full article.
Latin American Authors You Need to Know
World Languages Dictionary
Top Ten Latino Latinx Books for High School

Hispanic Literature Update from NOBLE

Hispanic Literature Update from NOBLE
From fiction to nonfiction and biography.

Finding Articles for Literature Research

Articles from electronic databases can help you fill in holes in areas of your research where book information is not sufficient. Often times, articles will give very specific information rather than a general overview. The databases listed below will be particularly useful when doing your literature research.

EBSCOhost Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database provides the full text of more than 2,100 journals, including more than 1,700 peer-reviewed titles.
Infobase Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
This reference database examines great writers, important works, memorable characters, and influential movements and events in world literature.
Gale Books and Authors This link opens in a new window
Books & Authors is designed for readers who want to dig deeper into contemporary popular fiction or nonfiction. Discover author biographies, excerpts from book reviews, and suggestions as to what to read next.
Britannica Escolar This link opens in a new window
Offers resources in Spanish for all ages in two unique interfaces: Enciclopedia Moderna for high school and college students and Britannica Escolar for elementary and middle school students.
Infobase Classroom Video on Demand: Master Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides unlimited access to thousands of full-length videos and clips on core-curriculum topics producers such as National Geographic, TED, the BBC, and more.
Gale OneFile: Informe Académico This link opens in a new window
With full-text articles from the most popular Spanish-language and bilingual periodicals, this database provides quality Hispanic reference material.
The Literary Encyclopedia: Exploring literature, history and culture This link opens in a new window
An expanding global literary reference work written by over 2000 specialists from universities around the world, and currently provides more than 5100 authoritative profiles of authors, works and literary and historical topics.
ProQuest New York Times, Late Edition (East Coast) This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage: Jun 1, 1980 - present
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals, including Mexican Studies, US Latino & Oral History.
Oxford Very Short Introductions: Arts and Humanities This link opens in a new window
Includes over 300 Very Short Introductions in the Arts and Humanities. These titles cover a range of subject areas, across History, Literature, Philosophy, Religion, and more. Whether you want to read about The Palestinian-Israeli Conflict, Indian Cinema, Modern Drama, Sikhism, Philosophy, or Classics, you’ll find it here.