Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases: A to Z
The complete list of databases available to you through the OWHL. To search for History specific databases click the "All Subjects" dropdown and select "History and Social Science."
Search items at Phillips Academy or broaden your search to include items offered to you by the NOBLE network.
Helps you stay organized and create citations
Full Text Finder This link opens in a new window
This resource allows you to search for specific journal titles in the OWHL's collection and see which databases have the full text articles.
Need help with a citation? Feel free to use the OWHL's online chat service to talk with a librarian as soon as possible
Sources of Overviews
Reference sources are often the best sources of overview information. The BEST way to find these sources is to meet with an Instruction Librarian.
Reference books are located in the Garver Room, and appear in the OWHL catalog.
Tip: Find reference books associated with your topic by using Reference Universe, a searchable database containing the indexes and tables of contents of all of the books in the Garver Room.
Why start with an Overview?
There are several reasons why it is a good idea to begin research by getting an overview of your topic:
- If you are unfamiliar with the topic, it provides a good introduction to the subject matter.
- It helps you to identify important facts related to your topic -- terminology, dates, events, history, and names or organizations. These will be important search terms.
- It can help you to refine your topic by making you aware of aspects of your subject.
- It might lead you to bibliographies that you can use to find additional sources of information on your topic.
Developing a Searching Vocabulary
Before you can begin searching for information in a print or online resource, you need to identify keywords related to your topic. As you use reference sources to gain an overview, make note of any specific names, dates, places, events, or specific vocabulary associated with your topic.
The searching vocabulary you develop can have a profound impact on the results of your research. Using the “right” words will speed up the research process, while the “wrong” words can bring to it to a screeching halt.