Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

BIO100 - Introduction to Biology General: Articles

This guide provides access to resources recommended for research in Biology.

Quick Links

Search Tips

When searching for scientific articles, it is important to keep the following in mind:

  • Always spell your disease correctly
  • Use the scientific name as well as the common name when searching
  • Use the tools of the database to help you
    • Instead of keywords, use subject searching
    • Disease subjects usually have "subdivisions"
    • Limit your searches to full-text
  • ASK A librarian for help

Finding Articles for your Term Project

When book information is too broad and general, articles in electronic databases can provide more narrow, subject-specific information.

The following are excellent first-stop databases for nearly any research topic.

Getting Started

To see a chart of all the databases the OWHL subscribes to, visit the E-Resources A-Z page. Once there, make sure to choose "Natural Sciences" as a Subject filter to only see those databases relevant to the sciences. 

Finding Newspaper Articles

  1. National Papers-- Well reputed national type papers often will discuss and unpack scientific breakthroughs and experiments.  You can use the Internet to help you find these articles.  Two well-known newspapers are listed below:
  2. Newspaper Source -- A database containing articles from hundreds of local and national papers. 
  3. Google Search -- Use Google to search for newspaper articles by searching for your topics in Google and adding the name of your local/hometown paper.