Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Full Text Finder This link opens in a new windowThis resource allows you to search for specific journal titles in the OWHL's collection and see which databases have the full text articles.
Hardin Online Gallery of Disease
A great place to find pictures of your disease for your presentation.
From the website, "MedPix® is a fully web-enabled cross-platform database, integrating images and textual information. Our primary target audience includes physicians and nurses, allied health professionals, medical students, nursing students and others.
The content material is organized by disease location (organ system), pathology category, patient profiles, and by image classification and caption."
Media / Video
The NOVA series has hundreds of videos in various topics in the Natural Sciences. Use the search box to find relevant material.
Science Search Engines and Portals
Although you can try searching Google for your topic, you will probably find the following web search engines provide more relevant and accurate results.
A customized GOOGLE search engine that covers medically related websites that are in the public domain. DOES NOT search through the OWHL's licensed resources.
A science gateway portal to searching federally funded scientific research. Contains published and current scientific projects.
Worldwide Sciences Portal
A global science gateway providing national and international scientific research
Helpful Science Websites
Centers for Disease Control
This section of the CDC website contains general overviews and information on hundreds of diseases.
Contains authoritative information on body systems and individual diseases. This National Library of Medicine site lists basic information about diseases/conditions, but also contains numerous links to additional credible websites.
The Mayo Clinic
A good source for reliable and accurate basic information on a variety of the "more common" diseases.
Website Evaluation Checklist
Website Evaluation Checklist
There are two sides to evaluating online sources. First is a concrete examination of the site itself. The following checklist will give you clues to the quality of a given website. Next is a critique of the information itself which requires critical thinking on your part. This process will tell you whether or not you can safely cite a particular website in your paper.
Use this .pdf to evaluate your website sources.
Medline's Evaluating Health Information
Millions of consumers get health information from magazines, TV or the Internet. Some of the information is reliable and up to date; some is not. How can you tell the good from the bad?