Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases: A to Z
The complete list of databases available to you through the OWHL. To search for History specific databases click the "All Subjects" dropdown and select "History and Social Science."
Search items at Phillips Academy or broaden your search to include items offered to you by the NOBLE network.
Full Text Finder (EBSCO)
This resource allows you to search for specific journal titles in the OWHL's collection and see which databases have the full text articles.
Primary & Secondary Sources
Primary Source vs. Secondary Source
A primary source is a document that shows direct, immediate or
firsthand knowledge of a subject or event. It is a document written at
the time or on the scene where an event occurred.
Secondary sources are those writings without direct knowledge of a topic or event. These include biographies, monographs, and general periodical articles.
Secondary sources are written by people who did not witness or
experience an event but have a great deal of knowledge about the topic.
Writers often use primary sources in their writing of secondary
Finding Primary Sources
You can find primary sources for this topic in three places:
- Books. Many of our E-Books have primary sources in them. Look for words in the book's title like "a documentary history" or "sources." Also look for clues within the text like block quotes and distinct sections with a different author.
- Databases. Many of the databases you looked at in the Reference Sources tab have primary sources within them. Those with primary sources are relisted below. Try playing with search filters to make sure you are looking at primary sources in the search results.
- Websites. Below are a few websites with primary sources. Make sure to note the difference between any introductory text and the primary source itself.
If you're not sure if you're looking at a primary source, just ask a librarian for help!
Databases with Primary Sources
Daily Life Through History
This comprehensive collection of primary and reference sources provides direct insight into the social history of societies ranging from the Australian Aborigines all the way to 21st-century China.
Modern World History Online
This reference database covers the people, places, and events in the broad expanse of history from the mid 15th century to the present. Some primary sources may also be found here.
Newspaper Source (EBSCO)
This database provides selected full text for 25 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers.
Websites with Primary Sources
E-Books with Primary Sources
The books below are from the Internet Archive. If you are using a book from this website, you will need to log in and create a FREE account with your P.A. email address in order to "borrow" the book. If there is no "borrow" link, you may use it freely without logging in. In Noodletools, you would cite any books from Internet Archive as "Where is it?" > Website, "What is it?" > Book.