Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HSS 201 - Age of Exploration: Secondary Sources: E-Books, Journal Articles, and Websites

Quick Links

Parts of a book

Besides the main content of a book, the parts of a book itself can provide information useful for research.  The main parts of a book include:

Table of Contents: An outline or breakdown of the different chapters of a book.

Bibliography: The list of works used in the research of the book; useful for finding more informaiton on a topic.

Index: The list of key words, often including people and place names, used in the book and the page numbers for where those words appear; typically the last section of a book. Useful for knowing whether a specific person or term is referenced within the book.

Other possible sections include:

Appendix: The part or parts of a book that provide additional information to the main text; usually found near the back of the book.

Glossary: The section that defines key terms used in the book; usually found near the back of the book.

 

Databases - Journal Articles

Another type of secondary source is a scholarly journal article. These are much shorter than books, but also much more specific. You won't find a complete biography of Marco Polo in a scholarly journal article, but rather an analysis of a specific part of his life or work. Scholarly journal articles often have a thesis and a specific point of view, which is something to keep in mind as you read and take notes.

Here are two databases that contain scholarly journal articles:

Websites with Secondary Source Information

You can also find some journal articles and secondary sources on websites.

However, not all websites are trustworthy and worthy of citation in your academic work. Be sure to consider who is responsible for a website, when and where it was created and updated, and for what purpose. Always ask your teacher or a librarian to vet a website before citing it in your paper.

Below are some websites with secondary source-type information that you can use in your research:

Find E-Books

E-Book Databases: 

**In Noodleools, under new source, answer the questions like this for the correct citation form:  "Where is it?" > Database, "What is it?" > Book

E-Book Websites:

**In Noodleools, under new source, answer the questions like this for the correct citation form:  "Where is it?" > Website, "What is it?" > Book

Selected E-Books

The E-Books below come from our subscription databases and should be cited in Noodletools as "Where is it?" > Database, "What is it?" > Book

 

The books below are from the Internet Archive.  If you are using a book from this website, you will need to log in and create a FREE account with your P.A. email address in order to "borrow" the book.  If there is no "borrow" link, you may use it freely without logging in.  In Noodletools, you would cite any books from Internet Archive as "Where is it?" > Website, "What is it?" > Book.  If you have any questions about citations, please connect with a librarian via our Chat Service:  OWHL Answers (below).