It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Be sure to change the "Format" filter from ALL to Book - Electronic, to limit results to e-books only. You will not have access to books in print this term, unless we also have the e-book (which in many instances, we do).
**In Noodleools, under new source, answer the questions like this for the correct citation form: "Where is it?" > Database, "What is it?" > Book
Find all the OWHL books that have been scanned in the Internet Archive. Start by creating a FREE account using your P.A. email address. Expand your search for access to all the free e-books that have been scanned by other institutions, as well.
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Journal Articles: Databases
Another type of secondary source is a scholarly journal article. These are much shorter than books, but also much more specific. You won't find a complete biography of Marco Polo in a scholarly journal article, but rather an analysis of a specific part of his life or work. Scholarly journal articles often have a thesis and a specific point of view, which is something to keep in mind as you read and take notes.
Here are a few databases that contain scholarly journal articles:
This database offers the full text of hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.