Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
WELCOME TO OWHLGUIDES!
Here you will find many resources to help you with your papers and projects.
Researching for economics may be unlike any other research you do. Depending
on your individual topic, information can be located anywhere. The research process will
require some hard work and diligence on your part. But don't worry! -- this OWHLGuide
will help you identify the sources most helpful for your topic. Read the descriptions and
suggestions carefully. If you have any questions or comments, don't hesitate to contact
a reference librarian.
Full Text Finder This link opens in a new windowThis resource allows you to search for specific journal titles in the OWHL's collection and see which databases have the full text articles.
Finding Information for Economics
Researching economic topics may be different than the research you have done in your other classes. Economists and economic writers produce A LOT of documentation and writing. Sorting through good and bad becomes increasingly important. Here are a few tips to help you find worthwhile things:
- Bibliographic Mining -- Look at the bibliographies of the materials you already have. This is a great place to find additional resources that will be helpful to your paper. Looking at the citation information of the bibliography, you can usually determine if a source was created by a specific institution (i.e. World Bank) -- you can then go to that institutions' website to look for the document.
- Use the Full Text Finder -- The Full Text Finder will search for journal and magazine titles available through the OWHL's databases and Print collection. It can tell you if the particular year and/or volume of a journal is available in any of the licensed database resources.
- Go beyond books and articles -- Many of the resources you will need are speciality items. To find the articles, understand some of the differences:
- Policy Reports -- Usually originate from policy centers or think tanks; they offer economic data to support their positions.
- Data and Statistics -- Economists (or economics students) use data and statistics to prove their theories. For example, if you are writing about an increase in GDP spending, you should use data to show an increase in said spending.
- Original Research -- Performed by economists or organizations, these can appear as independent articles, on websites, or in academic journals.
- Working Papers -- As economists and writers work out their theories, they will often publish the results to get feedback
- Academic Journals -- Authors submit their work to be reviewed by other experts in the field of their field of study (peer reviewed). If it is acceptable, it can be published in the journal. This is some of the most well respected and authoritative information.
- Use the Internet -- Many of the resources you will need/use are not available through books or databases (i.e. JSTOR). You will need to use Google. Use it smartly and carefully. Go to specific sites to find information. There is a list on the tabs at the top. Read webpages carefully for original research.
- Always read carefully -- As you read reports, blogs, articles, etc... Look for words that will point you in the right direction for other research (i.e. "A recent World Bank research report states..." -- Go and find that research report).