Citations - SCI420 - Environmental Science: Food, Agriculture, and the Future

When to Use Citations

You must use citations when:

You use a direct quote from a resource.
You paraphrase a sentence or paragraph from a source.
You use an IDEA from a source that is not common knowledge.

When in doubt, cite it!

Citation Forms

When writing this paper, you will be using the MLA format. MLA uses parenthetical references (instead of footnotes). If you have any questions, please see a librarian at the Welcome desk for assistance with using the MLA Handbook..

Bibliographic Information Recording Form
Use this grid to help you keep track of your sources and the pieces you will need to format your bibliography.

Purdue OWL: MLA Formatting and Style Guide

Online Citation Help

Knight Cite
An online citation generator that produces citations for your bibliography. It does not support (Author-Date) in-text citation or footnote/endnote citations in Chicago style. Contains templates for most source types you will need.

Save time with a Citation generator

The joy of finding footnotes and bibliographic entries that lead to the perfect original source can only happen when scholars carefully track their sources and generate citations in an appropriate style. Neglecting to track your sources as you move through the research process will cost you HOURS of precious time.

Try this excellent tool: (click the image below)

Noodletools will not only help you create your footnotes and bibliography, it also will help you stay organized. When you create a project, you have the ability to record, link, and track your sources, attach notecards, make an outline, export a bibliography, and copy/paste footnotes into your paper. You also may share your project with your teacher and/or classmates.

For history assignments, you should use Chicago Style bibliography and footnotes, and choose the "advanced" option to get the most types of citation forms.