Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases vs. Websites
Research done by professors, scholars, and journalists, etc.
Authority of information is verified by experts.
Paid for by the library. Often very expensive!
Cannot be searched in Google.
Reliable and trustworthy!
Anyone can publish a website.
The information included is often NOT verified by anyone.
Access is free. No one is paying for the content.
Can be searched in a variety of search engines, including Google.
Must examine with a critical eye!
Selected Internet Sources
Enjoy these sites via reading, listening and singing along.
Recommended Electronic Databases
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
This database provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources, including Nature, The Economist and Classical Studies. In addition, it contains hundreds of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and the CBC.
EBSCOhost Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database provides the full text of more than 2,100 journals, including more than 1,700 peer-reviewed titles.
AM Explorer This link opens in a new window
Access millions of pages of primary source collections across the entire portfolio of Adam Matthew Digital, with access to global archives from the 15th-21st centuries.
ARTSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital library of over two million images from some of the world's leading museums, archives, scholars, and artists.
Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
This database provides biographical reference articles on more than 650,000 international figures from all times periods and areas of study. It will also link you to relevant popular and scholarly press articles.
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Reference articles from one of the oldest and most trusted reference sources in the world.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
This database is like an online Garver Room with articles from nearly 1,000 reference sources covering all disciplines.
ABC CLIO Daily Life Through History This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive collection of primary and reference sources provides direct insight into the social history of societies ranging from the Australian Aborigines all the way to 21st-century China.
Europa World: The Global Reference Resource This link opens in a new window
This database provides in-depth essays on different aspects of individual countries, specializing in economic and historical information.
ProQuest International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Provides content from more than 660 of the world’s top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.
Oxford Dictionary Selector This link opens in a new window
Complete dictionaries for the following languages: Arabic, Chinese, English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Russian, and Spanish.
PressReader This link opens in a new window
This database provides today's news from over 7000 titles publications across the globe from 120+ countries in 60+ languages.
Reference Universe This link opens in a new window
Reference Universe searches the indices of reference works at the Garver Room.
World Geography and Culture This link opens in a new window
This reference database provides a comprehensive overview of countries and U.S. states, with information on people and cultures, geography, government, and more.
Gale in Context: World History This link opens in a new window
This database provides reference and secondary source information on the most significant people, events, and topics in world history.
Infobase World News Digest This link opens in a new window
This database provides contemporary news from global organizations and publishers, magazines, websites, and government agencies.
Selected Internet Sources I