Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HSS 100 - The Black Death: Secondary Sources - e-Reserve Books, Articles

Parts of a book

Besides the main content of a book, the parts of a book itself can provide information useful for research.  The main parts of a book include:

Table of Contents: An outline or breakdown of the different chapters of a book.

Bibliography: The list of works used in the research of the book; useful for finding more informaiton on a topic.

Index: The list of key words, often including people and place names, used in the book and the page numbers for where those words appear; typically the last section of a book. Useful for knowing whether a specific person or term is referenced within the book.

Other possible sections include:

Appendix: The part or parts of a book that provide additional information to the main text; usually found near the back of the book.

Glossary: The section that defines key terms used in the book; usually found near the back of the book.

 

Journal Articles: Databases

Another type of secondary source is a scholarly journal article. These are much shorter than books, but also much more specific. You won't find a complete biography of Marco Polo in a scholarly journal article, but rather an analysis of a specific part of his life or work. Scholarly journal articles often have a thesis and a specific point of view, which is something to keep in mind as you read and take notes.

Here are two databases that contain scholarly journal articles:

**In Noodleools, under new source, answer the questions like this for the correct citation form:  "Where is it?" > Database, "What is it?" > Journal.

Secondary Sources: Websites

You can also find some journal articles and secondary sources on websites.

However, not all websites are trustworthy and worthy of citation in your academic work. Be sure to consider who is responsible for a website, when and where it was created and updated, and for what purpose. Always ask your teacher or a librarian to vet a website before citing it in your paper.

Below are some websites with secondary source-type information that you can use in your research:

Print Books on Reserve

Reference books don't provide all the answers. Eventually you are going to need find other sources with more detailed information on your topic. Books on reserve are helpful when you are have finished taking notes in reference materials. The OWHL librarians and your teachers have already pre-selected a large selection of books that should be most useful to you.  Books on reserves are on the shelves at the Circulation desk of the library.  You may browse them after asking permission from the librarian at the desk.  Once you choose a book (up to two at a time), you may leave your student ID and then take the books to use them in the library for up to 2 hours.  Once you return them, your ID will be returned.  Look in the TOC and the Index to find if a book will be useful in researching your topic.  Also, if you wish, you may use the scanner to scan the material you need to take notes.  Don't forget to scan the cataloguing-in-publication page for the citation information if you haven't put the source in Noodletools yet!

 

**In Noodletools, under new source, answer the questions like this for the correct citation form:  "Where is it?" > Print or In-Hand, "What is it?" > Book

Selected E-Books from Databases

**In Noodleools, under new source, answer the questions like this for the correct citation form:  "Where is it?" > Database, "What is it?" > Book

Selected E-Books from a Website (Internet Archive)

These E-Books were scanned into Internet Archive (a website with free access to scanned print books from libraries and collections all over the world).  Some of these may be available in print in our collection, also.  If you wish to view these E-Books in their entirety, you must create an account in Internet Archive to electronically borrow these.  You might want to use your personal email address when you create an IA account, so you will have access to to these free E-Books after you leave P.A.  Please ask a librarian if you need help or have questions!

**In Noodleools, under new source, answer the questions like this for the correct citation form:  "Where is it?" > Website, "What is it?" > Book

OWHL Answers