Secondary Sources - E-Books and Journal Articles - HSS 300 - Gilded Age & Progressive Era in the US

Using e-Books and Databases

On this page, you will find specific titles and links to e-Books that may be helpful. Some links will direct you to the online NOBLE catalog with a link there to use the e-Book, while others go directly to the print book scan in the Internet Archive. Remember that you can't judge a book by its cover - - browse the Table of Contents and Index of any book here to look for source material, or conduct your own searches for e-books on the next page of this guide.

Please note that you will have to create a FREE account in Internet Archive with your P.A. email address in order to electronically "borrow" any book for 14 days. You will be able to renew books if you are not finished within that time frame.

Anything in the Internet Archive that doesn't have a "borrow" button to click indicates that the title is out of copyright, and therefore need not be borrowed electronically. You may search and use those older titles freely without time limits.

When you find a useful secondary source, whether it is an e-book or a journal from a database, you should also look at the bibliography for that source. You may find a number of excellent sources that way. Librarians call this "bibliographic mining". You will need to take the citation for a book and check in the catalog or Internet Archive. If you are looking for a journal article, search in the Full-Text Finder (below) to see if we have access through our databases. You will need to type in the name of the journal, and then see which databases have the journal for the date in which the article was published. If you still don't find the article or book, contact the librarians at OWHL Answers (below). We'll do our best to find it for you.

Image from Library of Congress, Cabinet of Illustrations: William Thomas Smedley, On the Beach at Narragansett Pier, 1900. Published in Harper's Weekly, Sept. 1, 1900.

Find E-Books

Search for Books in the Catalog
Be sure to change the "Format" filter from ALL to Book - Electronic, to limit results to e-books only.

E-Book Databases:

**In Noodleools, under new source, answer the questions like this for the correct citation form: "Where is it?" > Database, "What is it?" > Book

Art & Architecture ePortal This link opens in a new window
It is an authoritative eBook resource that features important works of scholarship in the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, photography, and design. Discover important art and architectural history scholarship from some of the world's finest publishers and museums in an innovative new way. Peer-reviewed born-digital content is also published on the A&AePortal.
All records in this database are also searchable via the Evergreen Catalog.
ProQuest E-Book Central This link opens in a new window
A vast collection of eBooks on all academic topics from scholarly publishers. All books available in eBook Central can also be found through the OWHL's catalog.

E-Book Websites:

**In Noodleools, under new source, answer the questions like this for the correct citation form: "Where is it?" > Website, "What is it?" > Book

Internet Archive - Online Options Abound
Start by creating a FREE account using your personal email address (this will allow you to access books after you leave P.A.). Search for access to all the free e-books that have been scanned by institutions.
Hathi Trust
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

Secondary Source Databases - Find Journal Articles and More

EBSCOhost Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database provides the full text of more than 2,100 journals, including more than 1,700 peer-reviewed titles.
Infobase Issues & Controversies in History This link opens in a new window
This database use primary sources to analyze great conflicts in U.S. and World along with in-depth secondary source articles on historical events. It also provides each issue with its background information and its pro/con arguments.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database provides access to full text scholarly journals, mainly in the humanities and social sciences.
EBSCOhost The Nation Archive This link opens in a new window
Established July 6, 1865, The Nation offers a 135-year archive of reporting opinion and criticism. It is an immensely important clearinghouse of primary source material covering the history of politics, culture, books and the arts – in America and around the world.
EBSCOhost The New Republic Archive This link opens in a new window
This database provides the complete full text of The New Republic, a popular press publication that covers topics such as politics, foreign policy, culture, current events, and the arts, from 1914 to the present.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals, including Mexican Studies, US Latino & Oral History.
ProQuest Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
This database offers the full text of hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.