Secondary Sources: Books & Websites - LSI - Revolutions

Quick Links

Databases: A to Z The complete list of databases available to you through the OWHL. To search for History specific databases click the "All Subjects" dropdown and select "History and Social Science."
Library Catalog Search items at Phillips Academy or broaden your search to include items offered to you by the NOBLE network.
NoodleTools Helps you stay organized and create citations

Full Text Finder This link opens in a new window This resource allows you to search for specific journal titles in the OWHL's collection and see which databases have the full text articles.

Gale New York Times This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage: 1995 - present.
ProQuest International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Provides content from more than 660 of the world’s top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.

Oliver Wendell Holmes Library Catalog

You can also find some journal articles and secondary sources on websites.

However, not all websites are trustworthy and worthy of citation in your academic work. Remember to consider the following when evaluating a website:

Who... is responsible for the website? Is there a specific author or publisher? Consider what makes that person or publisher a credible source.
What... is actually on the website? Is it general information that you could find (and confirm) elsewhere? Is it a book, a magazine article, a primary source? What makes it useful and valuable to you and your research?
When... what the information published?
Where... did the author find the information? Can you find a bibliography or sources?
Why... does this website as a whole exist? Is its purpose to entertain, make money, or educate? Look for the "About Us" section of the website to find this information.