ENG300 - Stories of Literature: Finding Scholarly Peer-Reviewed Articles & Media/Video Sources

A Guide for the Social Awareness & Action Stories of Literature Capstone Project

Journal Articles

The OWHL subscribes to over 175 databases to support your research.  For the full list, see the "Databases A-Z" link in the "Quick LInks" Box below.  The databases listed on this page will contain scholarly peer-reviewed journal articles, and sometimes, other types of materials.  Always make sure to filter before choosing your articles if you only want scholarly peer-reviewed articles.  Also included here is a classroom video database.  Because these databases have been paid for and evaluated by publishers, scholars, librarians and academics, you shouldn't have to worry about anything here being inappropriate for scholarly work. If you have questions or need help, don't hesitate to ask.  

Quick Links

OWHL Answers

Databases with Journal Articles

***When citing any of the sources below in Noodletools, to get the correct form for a source, choose "Where is it"? --> Database, "What is it"? --> Journal.  

Video Databases

***When citing any of the sources below in Noodletools, to get the correct form for a source, choose "Where is it"? --> Database, "What is it"? --> Film and Videorecording.

Databases vs. Websites

Databases

  • Paid for by the library.  Often very expensive!
  • Cannot be searched in Google.
  • Includes sources written by professors, scholars, journalists, "smart people", etc.
  • Authority of information is verified by experts.

Websites

  • Access is free.  No one is paying for the content.
  • Anyone can publish a website.  The information included is often not verified by anyone.
  • Can be searched in a variety of search engines, including Google.
  • Must examine with a critical eye!