OWHL Guides: HSS 591: Sport & Society: Welcome and Reference Sources

Welcome to the Sport & Society Guide

This Guide has been designed to support research in your class. The resources found on the Guide are arranged in the order in which you should use them, progressing through the research process with each tab. On this tab, you will get an overview of your topic by exploring reference materials in print (found in the Garver Room) and in Reference E-Books and Reference Databases. If you are trying to find a reference book on your topic in Garver, use the "Reference Universe" tool below. You may also browse the reference databases for entries on your topic.

If you are a day student and/or off campus, you will need to use your student ID# and PIN# to access the subscription databases. If you don't know your PIN#, see a librarian or call the library help desk (x-4230) during library hours for help.

***Remember to cite anything you find on this page as a reference source found in print/in-hand, or a reference source found in a database. If you need help with citations, contact Mrs.Tompkins or a librarian at the Help Desk.

(Image: OSU Library)

Quick Links

Databases: A to Z The complete list of databases available to you through the OWHL. To search for History specific databases click the "All Subjects" dropdown and select "History and Social Science."
Library Catalog Search items at Phillips Academy or broaden your search to include items offered to you by the NOBLE network.
NoodleTools Helps you stay organized and create citations

Full Text Finder This link opens in a new window This resource allows you to search for specific journal titles in the OWHL's collection and see which databases have the full text articles.

OWHL Answers Need help with a citation? Feel free to use the OWHL's online chat service to talk with a librarian as soon as possible

Reference Databases

Infobase American History This link opens in a new window
This source features thousands of reference articles on American political, military, social, and cultural history over the past 500 years. Some primary sources may also be found here.
American National Biography This link opens in a new window
ANB offers portraits of more than 19,000 American men and women — from all eras and walks of life — whose lives have shaped the nation.
Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
This database provides biographical reference articles on more than 650,000 international figures from all times periods and areas of study. It will also link you to relevant popular and scholarly press articles.
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Reference articles from one of the oldest and most trusted reference sources in the world.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
This database is like an online Garver Room with articles from nearly 1,000 reference sources covering all disciplines.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
This reference database spans 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions, and Encyclopedias.