HSS 591: Sport & Society: Secondary Sources - Books and E-Books, Journal Articles & More

An OWHL Guide with links to resources in support of research for this course.

Finding Secondary Sources

After you have looked in reference sources, you should be ready to look for more detailed materials. Secondary Sources come in many forms.  Subject specific books and e-books are most often secondary sources, as are scholarly journal articles and popular press articles.  Many websites will have secondary source material, as will video and documentary films.  You will find links here to access these different types of secondary sources.  Remember to cite these sources as the source found in the format - for example, a book found in a database (a.k.a. an e-book), or a journal article found in a database or on a website. 

Databases are paid for by the institution and you won't have access if you aren't a member of the community.  A website is freely accessible to anyone, and must be vetted before including it in your work.  Never pay for a resource online - - if you need access to the article or source, see a librarian.  We can help you gain access for almost anything, with a bit of lead time.  If you have any questions about finding sources, evaluating resources for credibility and appropriateness for academic work, or citing sources, please see a librarian.  We are here to help!

 

 

(Image: Beaumont Enterprises)

Finding Books and E-books in the Catalog

You may filter in the dropdowns at the top of the results page by type of material.  Under the "Format" filter, if you only want to find E-books, then be sure to filter on "Book (Electronic)".  If you only want books in print then filter on "Books (Regular Print)".  Not filtering will find both and also any other materials such as videorecordings, etc.  If you find something very useful, be sure to click on the subject heading at the bottom left of the record, and your results will be all books in our collection that have the same subject heading as whatever record you are on.  

Selected Books in the Circulating Collection

If you see a book in the catalog with a location of "closed stacks", you may click on place hold to have the book pulled for you and you will receive an email when it is on the HOLDs shelf at the library help desk.  If you are in the library or need it quickly, you may ask a librarian to pull it immediately.

Finding Journal Articles

Scholarly Journal Articles and Popular Press Articles are useful secondary sources, but they are very specific.  You should not search for articles until you have gained information from several reference and secondary sources books and e-books, and have narrowed your topic.  A good way to find additional secondary source articles is to look in the bibliographies of any useful books you have used.  If you have a citation for an article and would like to see if we have access to it, use the "FULL TEXT FINDER" in the Quick Links box on this page.  You need to type in the title of the journal the article is from to see if we have a subscription to that journal in one of our databases.  Then you can find the issue of the journal the article is in.  If you need help, please see a librarian!  Of course, you may also browse in the journal databases below with a search term, if you aren't trying to find a specific citation.

Quick Links

Videorecordings

Documentary and informational films may be good resources.  Below you will find a subscription database that contains thousands of documentaries - type in your topic and see what films are out there.  Also, don't forget that MediaSpace (campus community members only) has many streaming options, as well.  Lastly, you are likely aware that many films and clips have been posted on Youtube. If you need help finding videorecordings, please speak with a librarian!

Websites with Secondary Source Information

**Cite the first two below as blog posts from a website

Internet Archive - Find Free E-Books (and other materials) Online