OWHL Guides: Cryptocurrency: Reference Sources

Databases vs. Websites

Databases

Paid for by the library. Often very expensive!
Cannot be searched in Google.
Includes sources written by professors, scholars, journalists, "smart people", etc.
Authority of information is verified by experts.

Websites

Access is free. No one is paying for the content.
Anyone can publish a website. The information included is often not verified by anyone.
Can be searched in a variety of search engines, including Google.
Must examine with a critical eye!

Databases: A to Z The complete list of databases available to you through the OWHL. To search for History specific databases click the "All Subjects" dropdown and select "History and Social Science."
Library Catalog Search items at Phillips Academy or broaden your search to include items offered to you by the NOBLE network.
NoodleTools Helps you stay organized and create citations

Full Text Finder This link opens in a new window This resource allows you to search for specific journal titles in the OWHL's collection and see which databases have the full text articles.

Reference sources are also available in database form through the library. These sources are available 24/7!

Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Reference articles from one of the oldest and most trusted reference sources in the world.
Gale OneFile: High School Edition This link opens in a new window
Periodicals and reference sources that support high school research.
EBSCOhost Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
This database provides selected full text for 25 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers.