OWHL Guides: Spanish 502: AFRO-LATINIDAD and the Diasporic Experience in Hispanic Culture and Literature E (T2): Electronic Resources

eBooks at the OWHL

Besides some printed books, we also have the following eBooks through the library's purchase. Click "Access for Phillips Academy link in the middle of the page to open the eBook.

An African American and Latinx history of the United States
Call Number: E-Book
Limit one user at a time. When you are done be sure to close out of the book.
Beyond slavery : the multilayered legacy of Africans in Latin America and the Caribbean
Call Number: e-Book
Black-Latino Relations in U. S. National Politics
Call Number: e-Book
Blood Lines
Call Number: e-Book
Rock the Nation
Call Number: e-Book
Sovereign Acts: contesting colonialism across indigenous nations and Latinx America by Frances Negrón-Muntaner (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2017

Recommended Electronic Databases

ABC CLIO The Latino American Experience: The American Mosaic (Academic Edition) This link opens in a new window
A full-text digital resource exploring the history and culture of U.S. Latinx.
Art & Architecture ePortal This link opens in a new window
It is an authoritative eBook resource that features important works of scholarship in the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, photography, and design. Discover important art and architectural history scholarship from some of the world's finest publishers and museums in an innovative new way. Peer-reviewed born-digital content is also published on the A&AePortal.
All records in this database are also searchable via the Evergreen Catalog.
Art & Architecture ePortal This link opens in a new window
It is an authoritative eBook resource that features important works of scholarship in the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, photography, and design. Discover important art and architectural history scholarship from some of the world's finest publishers and museums in an innovative new way. Peer-reviewed born-digital content is also published on the A&AePortal.
All records in this database are also searchable via the Evergreen Catalog.
ARTSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital library of over two million images from some of the world's leading museums, archives, scholars, and artists.
EBSCOhost Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database provides the full text of more than 2,100 journals, including more than 1,700 peer-reviewed titles.
Gale OneFile: Informe Académico This link opens in a new window
With full-text articles from the most popular Spanish-language and bilingual periodicals, this database provides quality Hispanic reference material.
Immigrations, Migrations and Refugees: Global Perspectives, 1941-1996 This link opens in a new window
Translated and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals, government documents and books providing global insight on immigration in the mid-to-late 20th century.
Infobase Modern World History This link opens in a new window
This reference database covers the people, places, and events in the broad expanse of history from the mid 15th century to the present. Some primary sources may also be found here.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database provides access to full text scholarly journals, mainly in the humanities and social sciences.
Latin American News Digest This link opens in a new window
Provides a wide spectrum coverage of news and commentary, produced by Latin Americans, for Latin Americans. Issues appear weekly, with the exception of July, Thanksgiving break and December.
PressReader This link opens in a new window
This database provides today's news from over 7000 titles publications (newspapers and magazines) across the globe from 120+ countries in 60+ languages.
ProQuest E-Book Central This link opens in a new window
A vast collection of eBooks on all academic topics from scholarly publishers. All books available in eBook Central can also be found through the OWHL's catalog.
ProQuest El País, Madrid: Prisacom This link opens in a new window
El País (Jul 28, 2008 - present) is the most read newspaper in Spanish online and one of the Madrid dailies considered to be a national newspaper of record for Spain.
ProQuest Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
It is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.
ProQuest International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Provides content from more than 660 of the world’s top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.

Databases vs. Websites

Databases

Authority of information is verified by experts.
Includes sources written by professors, scholars, journalists, "smart people", etc.
Paid for by the library. Often very expensive!
Cannot be searched in Google.

Websites

Access is free. No one is paying for the contents.
Anyone can publish a website. The information included is often not verified by anyone.
Can be searched in a variety of search engines, including Google.
Must examine with a critical eye!

Spanish 502: AFRO-LATINIDAD and the Diasporic Experience in Hispanic Culture and Literature E (T2): Electronic Resources

eBooks at the OWHL

Recommended Electronic Databases

Databases vs. Websites

Recommended Web Sites