OWHL Guides: Andover Economics Society (AES) Research Guide: Data, Stats, Policies, & Orgs

United States Statistics Sources

Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA)
Contains statistics based on the United States economy, including industry sectors and regional level information. Also includes international trade and investment information.
Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS)
Perhaps best known for reporting the U.S. unemployment rate and CPI, but they generate a very extensive amount of other data as well.
Economic Report of the President
Annual historical statistical tables of government data from 1995 to the present for national income or expenditure, population, employment, wages, and productivity, production and business activity.
FRASER: Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research
A digital library of economic history and a repository of the institutional history of the Federal Reserve System. FRASER preserves and provides access to economic and banking data and policy documents.
FRED: Federal Reserve Economic Data
Provides comprehensive economic data, including banking & finance, population, employment, labor market, national accounts, production & business activity, prices, international data, U.S. regional data, and academic data.
GeoFRED
Map economic data such as employment, unemployment, housing vacancy and health insurance coverage at the state, county and metropolitan statistical areas.
Pew Research Center
A nonpartisan fact tank that conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research.
United States Census Bureau
A wealth of information from decennial census, the American Community Survey, and many more.
Bureau of Justice Statistics
The United States' primary source for criminal justice statistics.
U.S. Energy Information Administraton
The U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA) collects, analyzes, and disseminates independent and impartial energy information to promote sound policymaking, efficient markets, and public understanding of energy and its interaction with the economy and the environment.
GDP at US State Level (BEA)
Research is crucial to keeping BEA's statistics up to date and vital in an ever-changing economy. Research provides the foundation for innovation, including the development of new ways to measure the U.S. and global economies.
The Opportunity Atlas
Which neighborhoods in America offer children the best chance to rise out of poverty? The Opportunity Atlas answers this question using anonymous data following 20 million Americans from childhood to their mid-30s.

International Data & Statistics Sources

International Monetary Fund
Consisting of over 186 countries, the IMF promotes monetary cooperation, financial stability, and the reduction of poverty for all countries. You will find a variety of working and research papers on fiscal and monetary topics.
Organization for Economic Co-Operation and Development (OECD)
The OECD provides data on a broad range of topics to help governments foster prosperity and fight poverty through economic growth and financial stability.
UN Data
Search all the United Nations Statistical Databases at once.
World Bank Databank
This tool allows you to search specific datasets and databases to compare how different countries stack up with each other. Data includes the World Development goals as well as such things as GDP rates and growth, education/literacy level, infrastructure, etc...).
World Bank Open Data
The World Bank specializes in financial and economic matters of developing countries. Find detailed reports in major topic areas as well as statistical data.
World Resources Institute
An international think tank dedicated to finding solutions to issues concerning the environment, economic opportunity, and human well-being.
World Trade Organization
An intergovernmental organization that regulates international trade.
UN - Human Development Data
The human development data are sourced from international data agencies with the mandate, resources, and expertise to collect national data on specific indicators unless otherwise noted.
ILOSTSAT
We are the custodian agency for 14 SDG labour market related indicators.

Public Policy Centers & Think Tank Websites

Public policy organizations (also called think tanks) produce reports and studies of their own, typically in support of a specific policy. Be sure to read the "About" section to understand the organization's "slant" or point of view.

Brookings Institution
A left-leaning think tank that conducts "in-depth research that leads to new ideas for solving problems facing society at the local, national and global level."
Cato Institute
A libertarian think tank dedicated to "the principles of individual liberty, limited government, free markets and peace."
Economic Policy Institute
A nonpartisan think tank that seeks to include "the needs of low- and middle-income workers in economic policy discussions" in the areas of fair pay, affordable health care, and retirement.
Heritage Foundation
A conservative think tank dedicated to providing "public policies based on the principles of free enterprise, limited government, individual freedom, traditional American values, and a strong national defense."
Rand Corporation
A nonpartisan think tank that provides objective analysis on numerous economic and policy matters.
Hoover Institute
With its eminent scholars and world-renowned Library and Archives, the Hoover Institution is a public policy think tank that seeks to improve the human condition by advancing ideas that promote economic opportunity and prosperity, while securing and safeguarding peace for America and all mankind.

Regional Organization Websites

These organizations provide more detailed information and studies to the particular areas they represent.

ECLAC
The Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC) is a UN group specializing in economic ideas of Latin American countries.
more...less...
Use the publications button on the left hand side to find to reports, papers and statistics.
UNECA
The United Nations Economic Commission for Africa focuses on issues related to African Countries.
UNECE
The United Nations Economic Commission for Europe contains information on Energy, Gender, Environment in European countries.
more...less...
The left hand menu can be used to narrow and refine your search.
UNESCAP
The Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific focuses on economic and social concerns for the countries and region of Asia and the Pacific islands.
UNESCWA
The Economic commission for Western Asia -- The countries represented here include what we call the "Middle East" including some African countries such as Yemen and Egypt.

Country Reports & Data Websites

CIA World Factbook
Information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
IMF Reports
Reports and Publications of the International Monetary Fund arranged by country name.
World Bank Databank : Countries
Provides information gathered by the World Bank including factors relevant to the Development Goals. Allows excellent data analysis and visualization tools.
Data USA
The most comprehensive visualization of U.S. public data. Data USA provides an open, easy-to-use platform that turns data into knowledge.