When starting any research, it is important to begin with reference works. Reference works are broad in scope and will give you an overview of your topic. Reference sources can be in either print or electronic formats, and are usually short articles found in encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, etc. At the OWHL, our print reference materials are found in the Garver Room.
Databases A- Z • Library Catalog • Noodle Tools • Full Text Finder • Book a Research Appt
This reference database covers global history from the Renaissance through today. Some primary sources may also be found here.
Reference articles from one of the oldest and most trusted reference sources in the world.
An African American and Latinx History of the United States
by
How to Hide an Empire
by
A Queer History of the United States for Young People
by
A full-text digital resource exploring the history and culture of U.S. Latinx.
This database offers the full text of hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
An expanding global literary reference work written by over 2000 specialists from universities around the world, and currently provides more than 5100 authoritative profiles of authors, works and literary and historical topics.
This multidisciplinary database provides access to full text scholarly journals, mainly in the humanities and social sciences. Also includes image database (previously ARTSTOR)
A New Handbook of Literary Terms
by
A Companion to US Latino Literatures
by
