The Oliver Wendell Holmes Library (OWHL) Scholars Program provides students with the opportunity to have an intensive, interdisciplinary, and fun research experience using the library’s resources and collections. Mentored by at least one member of the library team, the scholar will develop an interdisciplinary project that will enhance their library knowledge and skills while contributing to the growing student scholarship and academic conversation at Phillips Academy (PA).
We are now accepting applications for the 2026-2027 OWLHL Scholar cohort. All applicants must complete this form by 5:00 PM on January 30, 2026 (no exceptions).
The program is open to all rising uppers and rising seniors unless you are currently a Fellow or Scholar through another PA program, or will be spending a semester abroad.
For more information about the application process, please contact the Program Director, Ms. Torres Hoven.
OWHL Scholars will:
learn about, and work, with the library team to explore the library’s resources and services;
develop critical research and archival skills;
engage deeply with library collections and/or resources to support an interdisciplinary, scholarly and/or creative project; and
create a final project that contributes to the scholarly conversation at PA and supports the library’s mission.
All accepted OWHL Scholars will have four components to their research project:
an annotated bibliography;
a final project proposal;
a final project;
and a presentation.
Throughout the duration of the program, OWHL Scholars participate in multiple modes of learning to help them explore and understand the purpose and work of libraries, information literacy, and the ways communities use libraries. The OWHL Scholars Program prepares students for a more nuanced understanding of scholarly communication and for a more effective and creative use of the library.
These learning experiences include:
Introduction to the Library Collections, Services, and Spaces: OWHL Scholars will be introduced to the library’s many services. Students will meet and work with library team members from all library departments (Archives & Special Collections, Research & Instruction, and Collections & Access Services) to understand the many facets of the OWHL and see how the different resources of the OWHL can enhance their project.
Mentorship and Research Experience: Each OWHL Scholar will be paired with at least one librarian who will mentor the student in their research, use of the library collections, and the development and creation of their final project.
Participation in a Cohort Community: Scholars will meet the rest of their cohort at the first meeting held during spring term. In addition, the cohort will meet again in the fall and winter of the following school year to collaborate and help plan that year's Symposium. Throughout the process, Scholars are also encouraged to talk with members of their cohort.
Scholarly and/or Creative Final Project: This project, which could take one of many formats (scholarly paper, art exhibit, podcast production, children's book, and more), furthers the mission of the OWHL, engages deeply with a facet of the library/archival collections, and contributes to the scholarly community of PA. Each OWHL Scholar will present their final project to the PA community. The presentation style may vary based on the type of final project they create. Each Scholar will receive guidance from their mentor and the Program Director.
Additionally, if possible, the final project will be included in the Archives and Special Collections Digital Repository.
Before you submit your application, we encourage you to contact an OWHL Scholars Mentor via email or in person to discuss your plan. They are listed below.
Ms. Torres Hoven, OWHL Scholar Program Director & Library Director
Ms. Goss, Associate Library Director
Dr. Roberts, Director of Archives and Special Collections
Ms. Collins, Instructional Librarian and Geographer-at-Large
Mr. Curtis, Programming and Student Support Librarian
Dr. Hite, Instruction & Electronic Resources Librarian
M. Wallis, History Instructional Librarian
For questions about the application process, please contact the Program Director, Ms. Torres Hoven.
