OWHL Guides: French 401 The Francophone World: E-Reference Sources

Quick Links

Databases: A to Z The complete list of databases available to you through the OWHL. To search for History specific databases click the "All Subjects" dropdown and select "History and Social Science."
Library Catalog Search items at Phillips Academy or broaden your search to include items offered to you by the NOBLE network.
NoodleTools Helps you stay organized and create citations

Full Text Finder This link opens in a new window This resource allows you to search for specific journal titles in the OWHL's collection and see which databases have the full text articles.

Electronic Reference Databases

Reference sources are also available in database form through the library. These sources are available 24/7!

Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Reference articles from one of the oldest and most trusted reference sources in the world.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
This database is like an online Garver Room with articles from nearly 1,000 reference sources covering all disciplines.
Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
This database provides biographical reference articles on more than 650,000 international figures from all times periods and areas of study. It will also link you to relevant popular and scholarly press articles.
Infobase Modern World History This link opens in a new window
This reference database covers the people, places, and events in the broad expanse of history from the mid 15th century to the present. Some primary sources may also be found here.
Oxford Dictionaries This link opens in a new window
Complete dictionaries for the following languages: Arabic, Chinese, English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Russian, and Spanish.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
This reference database spans 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions, and Encyclopedias.
Reference Universe This link opens in a new window
Reference Universe searches the indices of reference works at the Garver Room. It provides researchers with the most reliable introductions to your research topic, simplifying the process of finding just the right book or journal article.

E-Reference Books

American Creoles
Call Number: REF e-Book
Collins French Dictionary and Grammar
Call Number: REF e-Book
Encyclopedia of African History by Kevin Shillington (Editor)
Call Number: REF E-Book
Publication Date: 2004
The encyclopedia of migration and minorities in Europe : from the 17th century to the present
Call Number: REF e-Book
France
Call Number: REF e-Book
Francophone Afropean literatures
Call Number: REF e-Book
French Studies in and for the 21st Century
Call Number: REF e-Book
From Francophonie to World Literature in French
Call Number: REF e-Book
An Introduction to International Migration Studies
Call Number: REF e-Book
New Spaces for French and Francophone Cinema
Call Number: REF e-Book
Poétiques de la violence et récits francophones contemporains
Call Number: REF e-Book

Research & Instructional Librarian

Sharon Pei

She/Her

Email Me

Contact:

Oliver Wendell Holmes Library

978-749-4228

Subjects: Classics, Summer Session, World Languages & Global Studies

Free e-Books and other resources on the Internet

Hathi Trust Digital Library It is a partnership of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Internet Archive - Online Options Abound Start by creating a FREE account using your personal email address (this will allow you to access books after you leave P.A.). Search for access to all the free e-books that have been scanned by institutions.
World Language Collections at Boston Public Library: This unique collections may include books, DVDs, CDs, magazines, and newspapers for adults, children, and teens.

Recommended Web Sites

Ancient History Encyclopedia by EU
covering all time periods of human history on a global scale.
Europeana Collections
Europeana Collections provides access to over 50 million digitised items – books, music, artworks and more.
International Collections of Library of Congress
Access to the international collections varies by language and the type of material at LoC.
IUCN
IUCN is the global authority on the status of the natural world and the measures needed to safeguard it.
The Migration Data Portal
The Portal aims to serve as a unique access point to timely, comprehensive migration statistics and reliable information about migration data globally.
SSRN´s eLibrary
a visual, performing and fine arts research netwrok.
SSRN´s eLibrary provides almost a million of research papers from researchers across 30 disciplines.

French 401 The Francophone World: E-Reference Sources

Quick Links

Electronic Reference Databases

E-Reference Books

Research & Instructional Librarian

Free e-Books and other resources on the Internet

Hathi Trust Digital Library It is a partnership of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

Recommended Web Sites