Citations - CHM580 - Advanced College Chemistry - OWHL Guides at Phillips Academy

When to Use Citations

You must use citations when:

You use a direct quote from a resource.
You paraphrase a sentence or paragraph from a source.
You use an IDEA from a source that is not common knowledge.

When in doubt, cite it!

Citation Forms

When writing this paper, you will be using the MLA format. MLA uses parenthetical references (instead of footnotes). If you have any questions, please see a librarian at the Welcome desk for assistance with using the MLA Handbook..

APA Citations Help Sheet
Bibliographic Information Recording Form
Use this grid to help you keep track of your sources and the pieces you will need to format your bibliography.

Purdue OWL - APA Citation Style
Includes sections on how to write in APA style as well as how to do citations correctly.

Online Citation Help

Knight Cite
An online citation generator that produces citations for your bibliography. It does not support (Author-Date) in-text citation or footnote/endnote citations in Chicago style. Contains templates for most source types you will need.

Keep Track of your Citations

Some students can find citations difficult and/or confusing. To help with this problem, the library now subscribes to NoodleTools.

NoodleTools logo NoodleTools is a bibliographic citation and notes management tool. It supports you in creating citations for various source types in the appropriate style, and also helps you keep those citations associated with the notes that you take on the sources you use. It is simple to use and will save you time.

American Chemical Society Style Guide

ACS Style Guide
The American Chemical Society's guide to scientific communication. Includes writing structure, punctuation, writing style, word usage, and a section on the ethics of scientific communication.

Mendeley - A smart way to deal with your research materials

Mendeley web access A free tool that allows you to search, publish, and index, the research papers, books, websites, in the print and virtual world, and then retrieve those materials for support of your own research projects. If you are planning on making a career in the sciences this is the tool for you!
more...less...
From mendeley.com "Mendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research:
Automatically generate bibliographies
Collaborate easily with other researchers online
Easily import papers from other research software
Find relevant papers based on what you're reading
Access your papers from anywhere online
Read papers on the go, with our iOS and Android apps."

If you are planning on working in the sciences and doing research throughout your career, I recommend you start using Mendeley as a bibliographic control software. An account created today can be carried with you once you graduate from Andover. It is one of the 'chosen' software programs for scientific information control. Just image a scenario where you have dozens of pdf articles and you can search these while you are writing your paper! See the science liaison at the OWHL for more details.