Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Full Text Finder (EBSCO) This resource allows you to search for specific journal titles in the OWHL's collection and see which databases have the full text articles.
Reference Sources - Databases
Biography in Context (Gale)
This database provides biographical reference articles on more than 650,000 international figures from all times periods and areas of study. It will also link you to relevant popular and scholarly press articles.
Europa World Plus
This database provides in-depth essays on different aspects of individual countries, specializing in economic and historical information.
Modern World History Online
This reference database covers the people, places, and events in the broad expanse of history from the mid 15th century to the present. Some primary sources may also be found here.
World History: The Modern Era
This reference database covers global history from the Renaissance through today. Some primary sources may also be found here.
World History in Context (Gale)
This database provides reference and secondary source information on the most significant people, events, and topics in world history.
Welcome to the Oliver Wendell Holmes Library and the History 540 - Fall of Communism OWHL Guide. Click on a tab above to see all of the relevant sources that are available for this assignment. If you have any questions, please see Ms. Oldham at the Help Desk!
Reference Sources - Books