Reference Sources and Books - SCI430 - Water and Humanity

Quick Links

Databases: A to Z The complete list of databases available to you through the OWHL. To search for History specific databases click the "All Subjects" dropdown and select "History and Social Science."
Library Catalog Search items at Phillips Academy or broaden your search to include items offered to you by the NOBLE network.
NoodleTools Helps you stay organized and create citations

Full Text Finder This link opens in a new window This resource allows you to search for specific journal titles in the OWHL's collection and see which databases have the full text articles.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
This database is like an online Garver Room with articles from nearly 1,000 reference sources covering all disciplines.
Reference Universe This link opens in a new window
Reference Universe searches the indices of reference works at the Garver Room. It provides researchers with the most reliable introductions to your research topic, simplifying the process of finding just the right book or journal article.

Encyclopedia of Life Sciences by Anne O'Daly (Editor)
Call Number: REF 574 En19 V.1 - V. 10
ISBN: 0761474420
Publication Date: 2003-12-01
All aspects of life sciences including algae blooms.
Life on Earth by Niles Eldredge (Editor)
Call Number: REF 333.95 L626E V.1 - V.2
ISBN: 157607286X
Publication Date: 2002-12-17
Environmental Issues by K. Lee Lerner; Brenda Wilmoth Lerner
Call Number: REF 363.7 EN194
ISBN: 1414406258
Publication Date: 2006-07-11
Conservation and Environmentalism by Robert C. Paehlke (Editor)
Call Number: REF 363.7 C76
ISBN: 0824061012
Publication Date: 1995-09-01
Berkshire Encyclopedia of China by Mary Bagg
Call Number: REF 951 EN25B
Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change by S. George Philander
Call Number: REF 363.73 EN22P
3 Volume set covering major issues

Oliver Wendell Holmes Library Catalog

Keyword Searching
Typically, when you search, you will use keywords. Simply enter the basic ideas/keywords of your topic in the search box. The computer will search for books containing those keywords in the title, subjects, and descriptions of the books.

Subject Searching
Subject searching is more powerful than keyword searching. It allows you to use a specific vocabulary to find books in the catalog. To find a good subject, look at the display page of a book you already like. Click on the subject link to run a search