Secondary Sources: Books, Journals, & Websites - PHR 450 - Religion, Literature, and the Arts

Suggested Websites

Dartmouth Dante Project
A searchable full-text database containing more than seventy commentaries on Dante's Divine Comedy - the Commedia.
Digital Dante
The Divine Comedy Dante's Other Works Digital Projects Intertextual Dante Commentary & Context
Princeton's Dante Project
You can search the Divine Comedy, Dante's Minor Works, and Paget Toynbee's Dante Dictionary by typing in the word you are looking for in the appropriate box below. You may search Robert Hollander's commentary and philological notes (currently only Inferno I-VI) by selecting the appropriate line in the poem in either of those boxes.
University of Texas at Austin: Dante's Inferno
University of Texas at Austin: Danteworlds
An integrated multimedia journey--combining artistic images, textual commentary, and audio recordings--through the three realms of the afterlife (Inferno, Purgatory, Paradise) presented in Dante's Divine Comedy. The site is structured around a visual representation of Dante's worlds: it shows who and what appear where.
World of Dante
This edition of the Inferno is edited in XML, which allows users to perform searches for a wide range of entities across the entire poem.

ARTSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital library of over two million images from some of the world's leading museums, archives, scholars, and artists. (note: This Artstor link will be retired on 7/31/2024.)
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database provides access to full text scholarly journals, mainly in the humanities and social sciences.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals, including Mexican Studies, US Latino & Oral History.