Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Full Text Finder (EBSCO) This resource allows you to search for specific journal titles in the OWHL's collection and see which databases have the full text articles.
Finding Primary Sources and Artworks
You can find primary sources and artwork related to this topic in three places:
- Books: the stacks, eBooks, and sometimes Garver. Many of the books in the stacks, eBooks available through the library catalog, and in Garver have primary sources in them. Look for words in the book's title like "a documentary history" or "sources." Also look for clues within the text like block quotes and distinct sections with a different author.
- Databases. Those listed below contain primary sources. Remember, not every item in these databases will be the RIGHT primary source for you. Try playing with search filters to make sure you are looking at sources from the right time period.
- Websites. Below are a few websites with primary sources. Make sure to note the difference between any introductory text and the primary source itself.
If you're not sure if you're looking at a primary source, just ask a librarian for help!
Primary Sources on the Web
Databases with Primary Sources
A digital library of over two million images from some of the world's leading museums, archives, scholars, and artists.
Historical Newspapers (ProQuest)
Search and read full text articles from 28 historical newspapers:
• The Atlanta Constitution (1868-1984)
• Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003)
• The Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988)
• The Baltimore Sun (1837-1987)
• The Boston Globe (1872-1984)
• Chicago Defender (1909-1975)
• Chicago Tribune (1849-1992)
• The Christian Science Monitor (1908-2003)
• Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991)
• Detroit Free Press (1831-1922)
• The Guardian and The Observer (1791-2003)
• Hartford Courant (1764-1990)
• Indianapolis Star (1903-1922)
• The Irish Times and The Weekly Irish Times (1859-2015)
• Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005)
• Los Angeles Times (1881-1989)
• New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
• New York Times (1851-2014)
• New York Tribune (1841-1922)
• Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2003)
• Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001)
• Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
• San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922)
• The Scotsman (1817-1950)
• The St. Louis Post Dispatch (1874-1922)
• The Times of India (1838-2007)
• The Wall Street Journal (1889-1999)
• The Washington Post (1877-1999)