Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Primary Sources
Finding primary sources can be tricky, but in general, first-hand news accounts are a great place to look for more current topics. Many databases will contain these sources, as will some reference sources (see the documentary histories on the reference tab). In addition, secondary source books will often contain primary sources or cite them for you to find. Below you will find both news agencies and databases where primary source material on your topic will be available. If you need help, don't hesitate to ask a librarian - we are here to save you time!
Primary Source Databases
ARTSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital library of over two million images from some of the world's leading museums, archives, scholars, and artists.
CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive source for theory and research on international affairs includes working papers, special reports, policy briefs, journal articles, country data, and more. Note, if you have any problems with accessing to this database, please try it with username/pswd: phillipsacademy/patriot.
ABC CLIO Daily Life Through History This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive collection of primary and reference sources provides direct insight into the social history of societies ranging from the Australian Aborigines all the way to 21st-century China.
ProQuest International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Provides content from more than 660 of the world’s top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.
Infobase Modern World History This link opens in a new window
This reference database covers the people, places, and events in the broad expanse of history from the mid 15th century to the present. Some primary sources may also be found here.
Gale in Context: World History This link opens in a new window
This database provides reference and secondary source information on the most significant people, events, and topics in world history.
ABC CLIO World History: The Modern Era This link opens in a new window
This reference database covers global history from the Renaissance through today. Some primary sources may also be found here.
Infobase World News Digest This link opens in a new window
This database provides contemporary news from global organizations and publishers, magazines, websites, and government agencies.