OWHL Guides: Spanish 501: Latino Nation: The browning of America: Reference Sources Plus

Quick Links

Databases: A to Z The complete list of databases available to you through the OWHL. To search for History specific databases click the "All Subjects" dropdown and select "History and Social Science."
Library Catalog Search items at Phillips Academy or broaden your search to include items offered to you by the NOBLE network.
NoodleTools Helps you stay organized and create citations

Full Text Finder This link opens in a new window This resource allows you to search for specific journal titles in the OWHL's collection and see which databases have the full text articles.

Get an Overview with Reference Sources

The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Latin America and the Caribbean
Call Number: REF 980 C14 1992
Changing Structure of Mexico
Call Number: REF 972.08 C36RA
Encyclopedia of Latino Culture
Call Number: REF 973.04 EN1945 V. 1-v.3
Everything you need to know about Latino history
Call Number: Access from OverDrive
Hispanic Americans 2009
Call Number: REF 305.86 H56
Historical Dictionary of U. S. -Latin American Relations
Call Number: REF 327.73 D432U
Latin American History and Culture: Encyclopedia of Modern Latin America (1900 to the Present)
Call Number: Access via Credo Reference
Latinoamericana : enciclopedia contemporánea de América Latina y el Caribe
Call Number: REF 980 SA3LA
Latino City
Call Number: 305.8 B27L
Latino History Day by Day
Call Number: REF 973.04 L28N
Latinx Studies: The Key Concepts
Call Number: REF 973.04 AL31L
Mexico Today
Call Number: REF 972.08 M39S V.1-V.2
A Reference Guide to Latin American History
Call Number: REF 980 R26

Electronic Reference Sources for Global Studies

Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
This database provides biographical reference articles on more than 650,000 international figures from all times periods and areas of study. It will also link you to relevant popular and scholarly press articles.
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Reference articles from one of the oldest and most trusted reference sources in the world.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
This database is like an online Garver Room with articles from nearly 1,000 reference sources covering all disciplines.
Europa World: The Global Reference Resource This link opens in a new window
This database provides in-depth essays on different aspects of individual countries, specializing in economic and historical information.
Oxford Dictionaries This link opens in a new window
Complete dictionaries for the following languages: Arabic, Chinese, English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Russian, and Spanish.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
This reference database spans 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions, and Encyclopedias.
Reference Universe This link opens in a new window
Reference Universe searches the indices of reference works at the Garver Room. It provides researchers with the most reliable introductions to your research topic, simplifying the process of finding just the right book or journal article.
World Geography and Culture This link opens in a new window
This reference database provides a comprehensive overview of countries and U.S. states, with information on people and cultures, geography, government, and more.

Research Tip - Bibliography Mining

When you find a book or an article that is relevant to your topic, always check the bibliography or the reference list of that source cited by an author for other sources and then ask a librarian for help with finding them. This process is called "Bibliography Mining" or "Cited Reference Searching".

Please take advantage of it, as the author of the book or article has already done much of your topic research for you, and they spent many weeks/months/years of his/her life doing research.

Spanish 501: Latino Nation: The browning of America: Reference Sources Plus

Quick Links

Recommended Readings from the Library's Collection via Subject Search

Get an Overview with Reference Sources

Electronic Reference Sources for Global Studies

Research Tip - Bibliography Mining