Introduction: E-Reference Sources - HSS 300 - Indian Removal Act of 1830 and its after-effects in the US

Quick Links

Databases: A to Z The complete list of databases available to you through the OWHL. To search for History specific databases click the "All Subjects" dropdown and select "History and Social Science."
Library Catalog Search items at Phillips Academy or broaden your search to include items offered to you by the NOBLE network.
NoodleTools Helps you stay organized and create citations

Full Text Finder This link opens in a new window This resource allows you to search for specific journal titles in the OWHL's collection and see which databases have the full text articles.

Reference Databases

Infobase African American History Online This link opens in a new window
This source features thousands of reference articles, covering the entire spectrum of African-American history over the past 500 years. Some primary sources may also be found here.
Infobase American History This link opens in a new window
This source features thousands of reference articles on American political, military, social, and cultural history over the past 500 years. Some primary sources may also be found here.
Infobase American Indian History This link opens in a new window
This source provides reference articles on over 15,000 years of Native American culture and history, and includes biographies, legends, treaties, and more. Some primary sources are included.
Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
This database provides biographical reference articles on more than 650,000 international figures from all times periods and areas of study. It will also link you to relevant popular and scholarly press articles.
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Reference articles from one of the oldest and most trusted reference sources in the world.
CQ Researcher: 1923 to the Present This link opens in a new window
In-depth reports written by award-winning journalists on controversial and important topics of the day, from 1923 to the present. Professionally fact-checked, topics include economics, social issues, international affairs, politics, civil rights, public policy, and more.
ABC_CLIO Daily Life Through History (Academic Edition) This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive collection of primary and reference sources provides direct insight into the social history of societies ranging from the Australian Aborigines all the way to 21st-century China.

Welcome!

Welcome to the Oliver Wendell Holmes Library and the History 300 OWHL Guide. Click on a tab above to see all of the relevant sources that are available for this assignment. If you have any questions, please chat with a librarian!

Generally, information develops from specific to broad. An event happens, people report on it, people analyze it, and it becomes a part of the historical narrative. Your research sources should move in the opposite direction, from broad to narrow.

HSS 300 - Indian Removal Act of 1830 and its after-effects in the US: Introduction: E-Reference Sources

Quick Links

Reference Databases

Welcome!