Skip to main content

Physics 100: Articles

An OWHLGuide created to help PHY100 students complete their research on time.

Popular Science Databases

Science Database 1st Choices

When book information is too broad and general, articles in electronic databases can provide more narrow, subject-specific information.

The following are excellent first-stop databases for nearly any research topic.

Getting Started

Scientific American Online Scientific American is a scientific magazine specializing in articles that bridge knowledge between professional scientists and the public. This database carries the full-text of Scientific American back to 1993. Simply enter your disease and explore the hits.
SCIENCE Science is the premier American magazine for cutting edge commentary, research, and news in the sciences. Published weekly, it covers all areas of medicine and science. For best results, use the advanced search button at the top of the screen and limit the timeline for your search as the database offers full text coverage going back to 1880.
Science in Context Science in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Research Library (PROQUEST) Another great general resource, it features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, and important magazines.
Academic Search Elite Academic Search Elite is a rich resource spanning a broad stretch of academic subjects with thousands of full-text journals and abstracted and indexed journals.
   

 

To see a chart of all the databases the OWHL subscribes to, visit the E-Resources A-Z page.